Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Too much sour cream! I'm Polish and when a Pole says too much sour cream, it's too much. LOL! I'll be cutting that back to 1/4 c or 2 TBSP. I am not a fan of dill and followed a previous commenter's advice and subbed bacon (!) instead. I also added a smidge of chopped onion and cut down on the butter. I know my family, I also halved the spinach. It's a good starting point to shape into your own vision and I plan to tinker with this. It's a nice change of pace from ordinary mashed pots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New England Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
What a wickedly clever idea, with unlimited possibilities! (This is in the oven now.) I had a container of prepared mashed potatoes, fried 3 strips of bacon, and then sauteed my onion and some garlic in the drippings. (Accidently cut up almost 1 cup of onion, but more's the merrier.) I also added an egg for some puffiness. Used colby-jack cheese, as that was what I had and topped it with some parmesan. Can't wait to dig in. Tasted as I went along, and it smells yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Oh, this was SO GOOD!!! I modified with bacon grease in lieu of the butter and added some Mrs. Dash (no salt), and left the potatoes cubed. This dish is now a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I just put these in the oven and they are already the best mashed potatoes I have ever had. I am in love!! Serving them with steak and lobster for a new year's eve meal can't wait to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcvengros
Living In: Ironwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a new favorite of mine. To die for. I used mostly olive oil with a bit of butter and light sour cream and fresh baby spinach. Then I used my immersion blender. After it was done I added some extra chopped onion and dill. Was even better the next day after being refrigerated over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I think i tried to make this recipe too healthy by using fat free sour cream, cutting butter to 1/4c. and eliminating cheese. I also didn't have dill on hand so used basil. It was good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I made this for two people, so I went down to two big russet potatoes, half a cup of sour cream, same amount of onion and two tablespoons or so of butter. I used 2/3rds of a bag of spinach and this made it super spinachy. I skipped the dill and also used a nice English sharp cheddar. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
No rating since I modified. Used steamed, chopped kale, a bit of garlic, !/4 cup Greek yoghurt instead of sour cream and 1/4 cup light cream cheese. It was delish! Gonna give it four stars just for the idea which ditto sounds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Even better reheated in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States