Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Doubled the gravy, omitted the ketchup, added chopped garlic and 1/2 large onion to meat mixture, and two pints of sliced mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Pretty good. I made this over my bf's house with no measuring utensils so I eyeballed the measurements and I also used a can of cream of mushroom. About 1/3 with the patties and the rest in the gravy. I also added the dry onion soup..about 3/4 of a packet plus a cup or so of water. I didn't add salt..just pepper. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and my bf and his very picky 7 yr. old enjoyed it. The onion taste was pretty strong to me but next time I think I'll add a bit of sugar and adjust the gravy to taste. I'll also use cubed steaks. Great base recipe tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Absolutely THE best. I've made this several times. It is a quick and easy recipe and I serve with mashed potatoes and a vegetable (usually broccoli). The condensed French Onion soup is hard to come by sometimes, so I just substitute a packet of onion soup mix and add that to 10.5 oz of hot water. Recently I wanted to leave some for my family while I was away and followed the directions up to shaping the patties then froze the patties separately in plastic wrap. I made the gravy on the stove, let it cool and spooned it into a small zip lock baggie and put the frozen patties and gravy baggie in a larger freezer zip lock with written instructions on the outside for them. They loved it, so simple and quick! I imagine you could cook completely then freeze as well.... that is my next experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I agree with those who found the French Onion soup overwhelming. My personal preference would be a mushroom gravy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This Salisbury Steak is excellent. Everyone in my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
In all honesty, I'd like to know which turnip truck the people giving this 5 stars fell off of? In fact, most of the 5 star ratings include the user's own personal innovations on the recipe, which, I should have taken myself. To make this recipe "as is"...well...you could just dump a can of onion soup on shaved steak as well and call it "French Dip". This is not Salisbury Steak...in fact, I'm not sure what it is aside from a reminder that Swanson makes a better TV Dinner steak than this is. Try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Doud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is comfort food at its best! Great flavours, wonderful gravy... especially over mashed potatoes. Did take some others recommendations and added a can of mushroom soup. Also sauteed mushrooms, onions and a clove of minced garlic. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
lets see, many problems for me in this dish. first off, the patties in general tasted bitter because of the onion soup. i don't know what it is about onion soup but i have yet to find a dish that have benefited from the interesting flavor. another problem i had was with mustard powder in the sauce. needless to say it ruined the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Well first of all...the weakest ingredient is the can of Onion soup. Hot water, tablespoon of quality beef stock concentrate, caramelize a white onion, add to stock and let it get happy. Many improvements suggest throwing a can of mushroom soup at the recipe to improve. Please, please, please, please. The basic recipe is very good. If you ditch the can onion soup and make real onion soup, it is wonderful. Hello, we're talking ground beef here. So many recipes call for a can of this or a jar of that....bad. For instance a 28 oz can of plum tomatoes, some sauté onion, a tweak of garlic, simmer and you have the best tomato sauce ever. What I'm trying to say here is the time saved by dumping a can of soup at a recipe like this isn't worth the time saving as you get a can soup result. Order pizza if you don't have the time to boil beef broth, caramelize onion and simmer while you thaw your ground beef. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe however I modified it a bit. Like other reviewers suggested I added some mushroom soup and I also added about a tablespoon of red cooking wine. I used onion soup mix with 2 cups of water instead of canned onion soup. It is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States