Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Fantastic! Even the leftovers got eaten the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Taste a lot like meatloaf. Gravy way to salty.(thank goodness I didn't add salt) I doubled like recommened added sautéed mushrooms w/garlic to gravy + cream of mushroom soup. I didn't add Onion due to the onion soup. Will not make again........ So Bad.. I don't know that I will ever try Salisbury steak again. YUCK!!!! (Hubby who doesn't like onions thought it was good)I think he was being nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Love it! Just my changes that I've made after making this recipe several times. I ground up my own sirloin. I always do 4 lbs...triple the sauce ( except ketchup) adding fresh mushrooms. And I add a packet of brown gravy mix. Very good as is, but I add a little per my families tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was awesome! I intended to make according to recipe however my wife has celiac and i couldn't find any GF French onion soup mix. Only thing i had on hand was condensed tomato soup. I used that and added onion powder. Otherwise i made it to the letter...sauce and all and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I have tried other hamburger steak recipes which were very good but this one is my "keeper". Made as written and loved by all who try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Kids and I LOVED it! Husband didn't care for it because it was too much like meatloaf which he hates. So quick and easy. Definitely going into our rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love this recipe. The taste factor is just right. I followed the instructions as followed, except I omitted the gravy recipe for a packet of brown gravy and 2/3's of the french onion soup. After browning I put the meat in a casserole dish and poured the gravy on top, covered with foil, then baked at 350 for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I liked it a lot and so did my husband. I had to double the sauce though, other than that very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made this for last night's dinner, alongside mashed potatoes, wilted kale, and corn muffins. I made it pretty well close to the recipe, only leaving out the ketchup and subbing the French onion soup with the melee of partially-used onion/beefy onion mixes I had laying around. Although I found myself wanting to add fresh garden herbs of some sort to brighten this up, I resisted and added only fresh onion, garlic powder, and a can of mushrooms, which was excitedly pleading to be saved from culinary anonymity in the rear of the pantry. Topped with a few sprinkles of French's french fried onions and this was VERY good! Very reminiscent of something my mother would have made back in the 70s/80s. Very pleasing to my Texas taste buds. I would love to share a picture, but not a morsel was leftover from any of the meal. The potatoes played pillow to the beef, the cornbread made way with gravy, and the kale, usually a main attraction, got swept up in the forkwind as the obligatory price of admission required for the indulgence of traditional meat-and-potato dinners. By morning only the not-so-non-stick muffin pan lay hungover in the sink to tell the tale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The meat was indeed like many say .. meatloaf consistency. Not bad .. but not really good either. When it got to the sauce .. yuck .. the Worcestershire was overpowering and the ketchup just added a vinegar taste to the sauce. I will keep searching in my quest for a great recipe for Salisbury steak. I really don't understand why this recipe has gotten such high reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuickChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States