Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made this for last night's dinner, alongside mashed potatoes, wilted kale, and corn muffins. I made it pretty well close to the recipe, only leaving out the ketchup and subbing the French onion soup with the melee of partially-used onion/beefy onion mixes I had laying around. Although I found myself wanting to add fresh garden herbs of some sort to brighten this up, I resisted and added only fresh onion, garlic powder, and a can of mushrooms, which was excitedly pleading to be saved from culinary anonymity in the rear of the pantry. Topped with a few sprinkles of French's french fried onions and this was VERY good! Very reminiscent of something my mother would have made back in the 70s/80s. Very pleasing to my Texas taste buds. I would love to share a picture, but not a morsel was leftover from any of the meal. The potatoes played pillow to the beef, the cornbread made way with gravy, and the kale, usually a main attraction, got swept up in the forkwind as the obligatory price of admission required for the indulgence of traditional meat-and-potato dinners. By morning only the not-so-non-stick muffin pan lay hungover in the sink to tell the tale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookWrite40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The meat was indeed like many say .. meatloaf consistency. Not bad .. but not really good either. When it got to the sauce .. yuck .. the Worcestershire was overpowering and the ketchup just added a vinegar taste to the sauce. I will keep searching in my quest for a great recipe for Salisbury steak. I really don't understand why this recipe has gotten such high reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuickChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
It's pretty good, just like a blue plate special at a diner, you should omit the salt with the ground beef though, the French onion soup is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
It had a bizarre taste! Ketchup as no place in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth Jean Nicewonger-Camp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Tastes like meatloaf was hoping to find a homemade recipe my kids liked... Can taste the ketchup in it.... Might leave it out next time... It was edible but not great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This recipe is really good, but I do make changes to mine though. Instead of using condensed french onion soup, I use condensed golden mushroom, and add extra mushrooms. I also add chopped onion, green peppers, and a clove of minced garlic to my meat patties. Served with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob this is a complete comfort food dinner that my family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Pretty good, husband liked...made with mashed potatoes and sauce made good gravy....might try to double sauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
A hit with the whole family, including a couple of picky eaters. Next time will need to make extra sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
My whole family love it....thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I didn't change anything. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinzio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States