Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this tonight and served it with a side of mashed potatoes. It was just great! The meat was cooked perfectly and was moist and delicious! The onlly thing I did differently was I added in some sliced peppers when I sauted the onions. I had an array of yellow, green, and orange peppers and decided they would be a nice addition to the dish. I was right. But, if I hadn't already had them on hand, it would have been just as good I am certain. Oh, and I didn't have any cornstarch on hand, so I made a roux of 2 Tbsp. flour and 2 Tbsp canola oil to thicken the gravy...perfection! This was the perfect cold-night meal! I will definitely be making this again and again! On another note...the photo I am submitting for this dish was taken AFTER we had already dug into our meal! My bad...I forgot to take it beforehand ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was so great! Needed no tweaking, which I liked. Simple and awesome "comfort food". I had never tried this at home, only out a restaurant from time to time. Made last week with mashed potatos, making tonight over egg noodles. This is a winner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I cooked this Salisbury steak this evening and it was very quick and easy. The flavor and texture was wonderful. TIPS: I removed steaks from pan after browning - adding onions and mushrooms to saute. You can use one can of beef broth (14.5 oz) adding water to make the 16 ozs. Plenty of flavor. Then proceed with recipe as written. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leucadialady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Thank you ESKARINA! I was in a rut with my weekday dinner rotation and was wondering how to use some ground beef I had. This was perfect!!! I dislike when people rate a recipe with so many changes that the original recipe is barely recognizable. I did it as is with all the same ingredients and proportions. HOWEVER the second time around, I felt that the recommendation in step #2 to remove the beef patties when they are browned, sauté the onions and mushrooms, put back the patties and then proceed with the rest of step #2, had the best outcome. The salt and pepper quantities might changes with the type of broth that you use (i.e. its sodium content) but the salt to pepper proportion was just right for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is an A+ recipe! I had a deprived childhood of only frozen dinner versions of salisbury steak. This steak had the same taste you want, only better and fresher and made from scratchiness. Not sure how to say that.... And the great things is that if you have fresh ground beef, then you probably have all the ingredients on hand. I took my first bite, and heard the ding ding ding ding from a game show. There's no need to read reviews to find ways to tweak the recipe. Cook it as is the first time; then do your own tweaks if your palette demands it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this tonight with ground turkey and it was INCREDIBLE!! Even my three year old tore it up. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe exactly as is and I will make it again and again. I usually buy Salisbury steaks frozen but probably never will again. I chose this recipe over others on the site because I had all the ingredients on hand and it did not disappointin taste I highly reccomend giving it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Ahh! Where has this recipe been all my life?! I've always loved salisbury steak but always had the frozen kind. I didn't know I could make it from scratch! And to my surprise it tasted just like I remember! Thank you for making the recipe simple to follow! Regardless of what my husband thinks, this recipe will be a household staple, if just for me! I skipped the mushrooms because of my husband. It would have been even more amazing with them, but this still was a homerun dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was exactly the recipe that I was craving. I haven't had this dish in years! My wife loved it and asked me to make it again, and she usually likes a different style of cooking. I made it with venison, but it would be great with ground turkey or ground beef. I served it with a spinach salad, mashed potatoes, and green beens for an old-fashioned, comfort-food, delicious dinner. I did remove the steaks and saute the onions and mushrooms a little prior to returning them to the pan and adding the broth. Note that you could substitute beef bouillon for the broth by adding 1 tablespoon or 1 cube and a cup of water for each cup of broth. When I make it again, I may add a splash or two of worcestershire sauce, but the recipe was great as is. Add more or less onions or mushrooms to suit your taste. Double the gravy to have plenty for mashed potatoes. It is excellent and doesn't require condensed soup like most of the other similar recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
excellent recipe. I did change it up a little. I caramelized the onions first and then set them aside. I then browned the patties in the same pan. I set them aside. Then in the same pan I put some butter in and added flour and made a roux. I then added the beef broth and made into a gravy. I added backed in the onions and patties to cook. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States