Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Ahh! Where has this recipe been all my life?! I've always loved salisbury steak but always had the frozen kind. I didn't know I could make it from scratch! And to my surprise it tasted just like I remember! Thank you for making the recipe simple to follow! Regardless of what my husband thinks, this recipe will be a household staple, if just for me! I skipped the mushrooms because of my husband. It would have been even more amazing with them, but this still was a homerun dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I cooked this Salisbury steak this evening and it was very quick and easy. The flavor and texture was wonderful. TIPS: I removed steaks from pan after browning - adding onions and mushrooms to saute. You can use one can of beef broth (14.5 oz) adding water to make the 16 ozs. Plenty of flavor. Then proceed with recipe as written. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leucadialady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe exactly as is and I will make it again and again. I usually buy Salisbury steaks frozen but probably never will again. I chose this recipe over others on the site because I had all the ingredients on hand and it did not disappointin taste I highly reccomend giving it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I prepared this recipe as the directions stated (I'm not yet a "freelancer" in the kitchen.) It was delicious! I'm pretty particular about my Salisbury Steak, too. My hubby enjoyed it as well. We served it with mashed potatoes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlcollier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Loved this, really, really loved it. Added some red peppers in place of the mushrooms because my family is picky! LOL Also added some extra seasonings to the gravy after tasting. Little pepper and Lawrys if I remember right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Ahhhh. This is pure Southern comfort food! I followed the recipe exactly until the very end. I didn't use all of the cornstarch mixture...just enough to thicken the gravy to my liking. Tastes great served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I'm a beginner cook and this recipe was easy and very good. My whole family loved it. I used deer meat, which is what we use for almost everything and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this tonight and served it with a side of mashed potatoes. It was just great! The meat was cooked perfectly and was moist and delicious! The onlly thing I did differently was I added in some sliced peppers when I sauted the onions. I had an array of yellow, green, and orange peppers and decided they would be a nice addition to the dish. I was right. But, if I hadn't already had them on hand, it would have been just as good I am certain. Oh, and I didn't have any cornstarch on hand, so I made a roux of 2 Tbsp. flour and 2 Tbsp canola oil to thicken the gravy...perfection! This was the perfect cold-night meal! I will definitely be making this again and again! On another note...the photo I am submitting for this dish was taken AFTER we had already dug into our meal! My bad...I forgot to take it beforehand ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was so great! Needed no tweaking, which I liked. Simple and awesome "comfort food". I had never tried this at home, only out a restaurant from time to time. Made last week with mashed potatos, making tonight over egg noodles. This is a winner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States