Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Simple and delicious! I actually used 1/2 ground chicken just for kicks and it was still great (but would for sure be better with all beef). One tiny tweak that made a big difference: Italian flavored breadcrumbs. The only other thing I did a little differently was: after frying and removing the steaks I used the pan to fry the onions and mushrooms (in those yummy browned bits) and only then added the broth mixed with cornstarch and reduced it to a gravy. (I had made my steaks thinner so they cooked fully as I fried them.) Even my ground-meat-and-mashed-potatoes hating husband loved it! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Pretty good, D had seconds; really easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was so good. It is the best we have tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a no-fail recipe for Salisbury Steak! The entire family loves it. You can also substitute ground turkey for the ground beef without losing any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Not enough flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mtcrloss87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made this dish last night and it was great! My husband and son loved the gravy. I have never made gravy like that. The recipe was easy to follow. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe as written and although I'd love to give it more stars...I can't. : ( It just didn't have enough flavor. Maybe if the mushrooms and onion were sauteed together first...maybe with a little red wine? I don't know, I make no claims at being any sort of grand chef...but this was just ok. It definitely falls in the comfort food category but needs more flavor. Lipton soup? Or maybe using french onion soup in place of the beef broth. Actually, that's not a bad idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and found the bread crumbs and egg gave the meat a mushy texture, more like a meatloaf. The gravy was too thin for my taste. Adding flour and a little more salt made it taste better. Mushrooms really didn't add much flavor, I probably would leave them out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great recipe! I sautéed the onions and added an extra cup of mushrooms and a splash more of beef broth, it was delicious !! Definitely 2 thumbs up I will never buy frozen Salisbury steak again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Tried this last night. Wish I added some seasonings like Worcester sauce or even red wine. Meat was tender but with little flavor. Gravy was not too bad tho. Will try again but will spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States