Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I made this the other night when I had company for dinner. It was really delicious and had a very similar taste to the salisbury steak I remember from growing up. I served it with mac and cheese and a salad and I received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I used 2 TBSP of cornstarch instead of 3. I also sauteed the 1/4 cup of chopped onion with 3 cloves of garlic and then mixed it in. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
My son who is pretty picky when trying new foods took one bite and loved it! I made the recipe as written, but with two changes, I used McCormick's steak seasoning instead of salt and pepper and I added 1 clove of garlic to the meat mixture. It was delish! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I made this and was so disappointed given the high overall rating for this recipe. Only my husband liked it. It needed lots of additional seasoning. The gravy -- thickened with corn starch -- is jelly like. It took much longer to make than the recipe states. To cook through the beef patties. And decided the mushrooms and onion would taste better if sautéed first. If you try the recipe -- I would only use extra lean ground beef. I used lean ground beef and found that the fat melted into the sauce giving the dish a greasy taste and mouthfeel. I would be careful in making this recipe from a food safety standpoint. When broth is added, some of the meat is still raw (my patties browned but had cracks exposing raw meat). So the liquid for the gravy is now contaminated with bacteria from the raw meat. I let it boil for awhile to make sure bacteria in broth was killed. . And also used a meat thermometer to measure the internal temperature of the meat to ensure it was safe to eat. Simmering less than fully cooked ground meat patties on a broth on a low temperature as suggested is risky business!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
VERY GOOD as written other than we like having our mushrooms and onions softer...so once we took patties out to keep warm, cooked them about 10 additional minutes than recipe specified (covered lid) before adding cornstarch and water. Again, great recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this last night and my husband, a picky eater, LOVED it. The only thing I did differently was that I added a spash of Cabernet Sauvignon. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Excellent recipe! I threw in a cup or so of spinach. Couldn't taste it, but it was there. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
my husband loves this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
The sauce was a goopy mess. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Naples43102 I agree with you fully, seems we have the same taste. I just picked a another recipe because of your review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States