Salami Lover's Italian Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
long time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I love this pasta salad and every time I serve it I get loads of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is my family's favorite summer salad! They always want me to double the recipe so there will be lots of leftovers. I use one each, green and red or yellow bell pepper and a wedge of fresh parmesan cheese, grated for each batch. I've tried it with a few salad dressings and the absolute best is Bernstein's Restaurant Style Italian. I'm serious when I say that no other salad dressing makes it taste as good. I've even tried the same brand but creamy italian and it just isn't the same. The trick to eliminating the dryness is to save about an inch or two of the bottled dressing and put it in just before serving. The pasta initially absorbs the dressing and it can get a little dry especially if made several hours in advance or the day before. That last bit of dressing added at the end is the perfect solution to that problem. Just made it for a Mothers Day barbeque and picnic and didn't get to bring any home, again! which is why I hid a bowl of it in the back frig for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETCHEN ANN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Took this to a luncheon at work and it was inhaled! took advice from Deeevo and nuked the salami(30-45 secs in micro when sliced in strips)fantastic! several people wanted recipe,thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! I usually use tortollinis in it and it is soo good!! Im glad everyone loves it as much as I do or I might end up with too many leftovers, which I would completely devour. I usually add in 2 inch pieces of asaparagus as well.. Just put it into the boiling water for a minute or two to, blanche, is it? Same with the salami and the peppers. I read that on a similar recipe or under someones reviews.. I dont remember exactly, but it seems to work well. I may also put fresh spinach in with it as well. Not immediately with all the ingredients, but after some of the dressing has already soaked up so the spinach doesnt get soggy. Also may add cherry tomatoes, pieces of celery, & maybe some chunks of cucumber and feta cheese. Super amazing recipe for potlucks, lunches or dinners.. I'm just trying to decide if it's an appropriate salad in the winter- it seems more for summer doesnt it? It's so good, I dont think it really matters. Only drawback is my version gets a little pricey with all the fresh veggies and torts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I loved this pasta salad. I used a creamy ceaser salad dressing for the creamy dressing. I added some chopped green pepper and used yellow onion. I will make this again!! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this. I added quartered grape tomatoes and fresh parsley, which added a nice fresh flavor. I assumed the 'creamy salad dressing' meant Miracle Whip, which we are not fans of, so I used light Hellman's mayo instead. Very good. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I added celery, grape tomatoes and cubes of mont jack cheese (same size as salami) and used shell macaroni. I made my own italian dressing and for the creamy salad dressing I just used a little bit of mayo to bind everything together- big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I don't use "creamy salad dressing" so I just used a mix of mayonnaise and sour cream. To make it a little more hearty, I threw in some halved cherry tomatoes and one large cucumber that I cut into fourths. This was yummy. This serves four, not six. There was enough for my boys and I for dinner with a portion leftover for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Yum! I used a penne-type of pasta, doubled the Italian dressing (I didn't have the creamy style), and used pearl mozzarella in placed of the grated Parmesan. I also sprinkled the salad with a Tuscan style seasoning. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States