Salade Lyonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved it! I passed on the teaspoon of sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rota, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Nice salad! I couldn't find endive in the store so I just grabbed some radicchio that looked good. I wasn't up for raw garlic today so I sauteed it in a little bacon grease. My first time poaching eggs and it was fun! My first one came out too overdone...the yolks were almost cooked all the way through, but my second was perfect! I sliced the onion instead of small dice too. The creaminess from the yolk gives this salad and AMAZING flavor! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Even the kids loved this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Great salad. I served it along side the "almond pork" from this site. I had never poached an egg before and i didn't know how much vinegar to add to the water and it doesn't specify in the ingredients so I just poured some in. It sort of worked. It really made enough to feed 8 and I have a LOT of dressing left over. If I did it again I would cut the dressing in half. But, very delicious! Thanks. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is my new favorite salad! I had no idea how good a poached egg could be over lettuce. I am not a huge fan of endive, so I just used romaine. I used white champagne vinegar instead of red wine vinegar and I added some crispy, warm diced O'Brian potatoes. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Great simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Ok... so the first time I had a Salade Lyonnaise I was actually in L'Horme France... let me tell you this salad was AHHMAZING!!! I truly can't tell you how good it was.... That being said, I use this recipe and tweak slighty... I mix the onion (one small white or yellow), garlic, sugar, oil, vinegar, mustard, herbes, salt and pepper, all in my Ninja until smooth... then I let it sit for a day, un-refrigerated before I use it... Instead of bacon, I use Kielbasa cooked in beer... they use meat from the cheek for bacon in France... so ours tastes different... the kielbasa is closer.... Then instead of a poached egg... I fry sunny side up, really runny, two eggs per salad... if you do this, you will be as close as I can to replicate what I ate in France.... Enjoy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superridiculous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMSR
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Another tasty salad; the poached eggs (or rather, the yolks) are what make this salad just right. We don't like endive so I simply used more lettuce (mixed spring greens, to be exact) and left out the garlic because it was forgotten. Also added red onion as many reviewers recommended. For the dressing, we cut back on the evoo and (balsamic) vinegar, while reducing the other components to as necessary. I make my own blend of H-D-P and perhaps it is stronger than store-bought but it was quite over-powering and I would definitely use even less than I did the next time. This would pair well with a rich, meatless soup like French onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Simple clean easy inexpensive. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Not a big fan. Felt like it was missing something - definitely too much dressing (1.5 cups for 1 head of lettuce?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States