Salade Lyonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Very satisfying salad. I have never poached an egg before, or eaten one, I hope what I ate was what it was supposed to be like! I did add a splash of white vinegar to the water, but when I put the eggs in the white disintegrated for the most part. Oh well, the yolk was very delicious mixed with the dressing. I found the dressing a little too vinegary on it's own. I made the dressing first to let the herbs soften a bit while I mucked around with eggs and bacon :) I also briefly sautéed my onions in the bacon grease. Otherwise, followed the recipe, we both enjoyed, thank you for sharing Snackybits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I've made this as is and it's a good salad. After reading other reviews I used I swapped fresh spinach for the romaine lettuce and green onion instead of a regular onion. It's just a personal preference thing. The dressing is amazing, tangy and savory! I'm still working on poaching eggs, I'm terrible at it! Mine comes out like a boiled over easy egg, ugly, but still tastes the same. I love cutting the egg open over the salad and letting the warm yolk ooze out mixing with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Not a big fan. Felt like it was missing something - definitely too much dressing (1.5 cups for 1 head of lettuce?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Simple clean easy inexpensive. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMSR
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Another tasty salad; the poached eggs (or rather, the yolks) are what make this salad just right. We don't like endive so I simply used more lettuce (mixed spring greens, to be exact) and left out the garlic because it was forgotten. Also added red onion as many reviewers recommended. For the dressing, we cut back on the evoo and (balsamic) vinegar, while reducing the other components to as necessary. I make my own blend of H-D-P and perhaps it is stronger than store-bought but it was quite over-powering and I would definitely use even less than I did the next time. This would pair well with a rich, meatless soup like French onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Ok... so the first time I had a Salade Lyonnaise I was actually in L'Horme France... let me tell you this salad was AHHMAZING!!! I truly can't tell you how good it was.... That being said, I use this recipe and tweak slighty... I mix the onion (one small white or yellow), garlic, sugar, oil, vinegar, mustard, herbes, salt and pepper, all in my Ninja until smooth... then I let it sit for a day, un-refrigerated before I use it... Instead of bacon, I use Kielbasa cooked in beer... they use meat from the cheek for bacon in France... so ours tastes different... the kielbasa is closer.... Then instead of a poached egg... I fry sunny side up, really runny, two eggs per salad... if you do this, you will be as close as I can to replicate what I ate in France.... Enjoy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superridiculous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Great simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is my new favorite salad! I had no idea how good a poached egg could be over lettuce. I am not a huge fan of endive, so I just used romaine. I used white champagne vinegar instead of red wine vinegar and I added some crispy, warm diced O'Brian potatoes. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Great salad. I served it along side the "almond pork" from this site. I had never poached an egg before and i didn't know how much vinegar to add to the water and it doesn't specify in the ingredients so I just poured some in. It sort of worked. It really made enough to feed 8 and I have a LOT of dressing left over. If I did it again I would cut the dressing in half. But, very delicious! Thanks. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Even the kids loved this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States