Salad with Prosciutto and Caramelized Pears and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Excellent salad. Makes a very attractive and appealing presentation on a large platter. Very gourmet. A great recipe to serve guests. Just a note, if you print out the recipe to the 4x6 size, the romaine hearts appear separate from the ingredients list and are easy to miss when making your grocery list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Excellent salad! Hubby and I ate it up! I used a little less olive oil, as the previous reviews suggested. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I've made this salad twice and yes, the dressing is runny but it still works fine. I tossed my greens with the dressing, place them on a large shallow platter(with a lip) then arrange the rest of the indredients on top drizzling a bit more dressing over everything. I did not use all the dressing, about half. It looked beautiful and tasted wonderful! I did add some crumbled goat cheese and was very pleased with the addition. If this salad sounds good to you, try it and don't worry about the runny dressing because the orange flavor it adds to the salad is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
An awesome salad! I added goat cheese and used three barlett pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I thought 2 cups of OJ was a bit too much. I poured out about 1/2 a cup after adding the herbs. I could not get my dressing to thicken (probably because I have a really bad blender), and had to use cornstarch as a thickener. I stuck it in the freezer to cool because I was a little pressed for time. It worked out just fine. The dressing is very tasty. I might add a bit more sugar next time but tastes fine as is. I added crumbled feta on top of my finished product. Thanks for a new twist on salad J. Craig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
I started out with doubling the dressing. I thought the salad would be small, but it serves at least 10. Anyway, I cooked orange juice down to half thinking maybe that was why some reviews said it wouldn't thicken. I had no better luck doing it this way. Was still very watery. I added less olive oil and it was still overpowering flavor. Didn't like it. I kept trying to "fix" it but ended up throwing it out. I ended up using the dressing from Betsy's mandarin orange salad(this web site). I thought I would have to get more than 2 pears. I was serving 8 and had to do 2 servings without nuts and wanted everyone to have a good taste of the pears. So I got 6 asian pears and it cost me $9.oo! It wasn't necessary to get all those pears, 3 would have been enough. They held up good during cooking time, I think another type of pear may get mushy. I never had asian pears before, they are shaped like an apple, slice like an apple, I was worried they weren't ripe because they are firm, but they were. This part of the salad was good. Wait to add pears and dressing to lettuce until just before serving. I added pears to salad ahead of time and it got very wilted, even without the dressing. I really didn't need to double anything afterall. My husband loved it and so did my other guests, but I thought it was too sweet, My fault for trying to double pear mix.I won't use that many pears next time. It did have a complex of flavors and that I liked. Thanks J. Craig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This salad is wonderful, the dressing however needs help. When searching for other recipes to compare it to, most said to reduce the orange juice to 1/4 C. I tried that but didn't like the flavor of the dressing, when I blended in the onion, it over powered the flavors. So I used the recipe from Orange Vinaigrette Brown Rice Salad (also on this site) I also used Red Wine vinegar instead of balsamic vinegar, as someone said it turns the dressing a brownish color. I waited until time to serve to add the dressing, and topped it with crumbled goat cheese (a first for me, but very mild flavor and good) Its a very elegant salad and I got many complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Absolutely DELICIOUS!! This salad is comparable to a few I've had in some of the best restaurants in the Washington D.C. area!! Light, refreshing and a great combination of flavors. My only substitution was onion powder in place of the raw onions (personal preference). I'm sure this did change the *bite* of the salad slightly. Do not skip the prosciutto because the salty/sweet combination is great with the asian pears! My pears did not caramelize to a nice brown color, so I added a tablespoon of organic agave nectar to help them turn a more golden color. Make sure not to slice your pear too thin because they will become overcooked easily. I will definitely be making this salad again for friends and family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Skipped the prosciutto, but the salad still tasted great. Simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
loved by my 4 yr old grandaughter to my 76 yr old mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States