Salad with Prosciutto and Caramelized Pears and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
loved by my 4 yr old grandaughter to my 76 yr old mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Great salad. The men in my family hate girly salads but made an exception for this one. The dressing takes a while to thicken but is well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I thought 2 cups of OJ was a bit too much. I poured out about 1/2 a cup after adding the herbs. I could not get my dressing to thicken (probably because I have a really bad blender), and had to use cornstarch as a thickener. I stuck it in the freezer to cool because I was a little pressed for time. It worked out just fine. The dressing is very tasty. I might add a bit more sugar next time but tastes fine as is. I added crumbled feta on top of my finished product. Thanks for a new twist on salad J. Craig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This salad was excellent. Don't be tempted to skip the procsiutto. It made for a perfect balance of tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
An awesome salad! I added goat cheese and used three barlett pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I just could not get the dressing to work on this salad. I followed directions exactly and they would not emulsifly!! Made it once more, still did not work. Just put Paul Newmans Balsamic dressing on and called it a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This salad is delicious. I made it the first time and followed the recipe exactly except I used bacon instead of prosciutto (because it's hard to find here). The second time I did not carmelize the pears, which was a fresh twist. The flavors were all still there-- both are very good. Other reviewers who complained about the olive oil taste may just want to use a milder olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Excellent salad! Hubby and I ate it up! I used a little less olive oil, as the previous reviews suggested. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I was excited about this because I love pears, but the combination of flavors was strange. I wasn't wild about the dressing-there was a weird, olive oil aftertaste. I think the recipe would grow on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Made this for a special lunch and it was a hit. I used Asian pears, substituted red wine for the white wine since I was out, and then added goat cheese as well. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States