Salad with Prosciutto and Caramelized Pears and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Tasty, but the dressing was way too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Yum! Yum! This is so full of flavor! I served the dressing on the side since it is a bit thin, but there were no complaints at the dinner table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This salad is wonderful, the dressing however needs help. When searching for other recipes to compare it to, most said to reduce the orange juice to 1/4 C. I tried that but didn't like the flavor of the dressing, when I blended in the onion, it over powered the flavors. So I used the recipe from Orange Vinaigrette Brown Rice Salad (also on this site) I also used Red Wine vinegar instead of balsamic vinegar, as someone said it turns the dressing a brownish color. I waited until time to serve to add the dressing, and topped it with crumbled goat cheese (a first for me, but very mild flavor and good) Its a very elegant salad and I got many complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This salad is WONDERFUL!!! It takes some time to prepare but if your willing to put forth the effort I totally reccommend it. The only change I have made is I do not add the water to the pears when I'm carmelizing them... they just turn to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Skipped the prosciutto, but the salad still tasted great. Simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Delicious recipe though a little time consuming. I had no problems with the dressing. It is going to be a little thin but that shouldn't be a big concern. Next time, I will forgo carmelizing the pears. I think they could be cut up as is and placed in the salad without any real difference in taste. Really liked the proscuitto in this recipe. Plan on making this again for friends. Really liked the combination of sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
this salad was delicious! I used apples instead of pears.i also cut the amount of sugar in half, and it was just the right amount of sweetness. topped it with some herbed goat cheese. this is a meal in itself!! enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I've made this salad twice and yes, the dressing is runny but it still works fine. I tossed my greens with the dressing, place them on a large shallow platter(with a lip) then arrange the rest of the indredients on top drizzling a bit more dressing over everything. I did not use all the dressing, about half. It looked beautiful and tasted wonderful! I did add some crumbled goat cheese and was very pleased with the addition. If this salad sounds good to you, try it and don't worry about the runny dressing because the orange flavor it adds to the salad is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
My salad dressing was way too runny. I read reviews before I made it, and decided to make dressing hours before serving. I made dressing about 6 hours before, kept it in refrigerator for 5 hours, it didn't help. Then I put it in freezer for another hour, guess what? It DIDN’T help. So I ended up using just half of made dressing, because the consistency was just like water. Overall, salad is very sweet. And it is time consuming. I used regular green pears. Next day I had some of the leftover salad with my lunch and it tasted better to me then day before. Will I make it again? Maybe in 5 years or so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
I started out with doubling the dressing. I thought the salad would be small, but it serves at least 10. Anyway, I cooked orange juice down to half thinking maybe that was why some reviews said it wouldn't thicken. I had no better luck doing it this way. Was still very watery. I added less olive oil and it was still overpowering flavor. Didn't like it. I kept trying to "fix" it but ended up throwing it out. I ended up using the dressing from Betsy's mandarin orange salad(this web site). I thought I would have to get more than 2 pears. I was serving 8 and had to do 2 servings without nuts and wanted everyone to have a good taste of the pears. So I got 6 asian pears and it cost me $9.oo! It wasn't necessary to get all those pears, 3 would have been enough. They held up good during cooking time, I think another type of pear may get mushy. I never had asian pears before, they are shaped like an apple, slice like an apple, I was worried they weren't ripe because they are firm, but they were. This part of the salad was good. Wait to add pears and dressing to lettuce until just before serving. I added pears to salad ahead of time and it got very wilted, even without the dressing. I really didn't need to double anything afterall. My husband loved it and so did my other guests, but I thought it was too sweet, My fault for trying to double pear mix.I won't use that many pears next time. It did have a complex of flavors and that I liked. Thanks J. Craig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States