Salad with Prosciutto and Caramelized Pears and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Great salad and good for you. This ranks with those salads you get a fine expensive resturants. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
YUM! Awesome salad-my father licked the plate clean!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NKTAUBE
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Delicious, but prosciutto always is. Even without it, the dressing and caramelized pears and walnuts were great. It was a little sweeter than I prefer, so next time I'd probably not add the sugar to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Cole
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I scaled the recipe to just 2 servings and didn't reduce the orange juice (just used less). The carmelized pears and walnuts were fabulous, and the vinagarette was delicious. It didn't thicken, but vinagarette is typically very thin. Served with a ham and cheese quiche for a great meal - the salad was made while the quiche cooked, and everything came out at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
such a good salad! We skipped the dressing and ate it as is...amazing! will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Absolutely DELICIOUS!! This salad is comparable to a few I've had in some of the best restaurants in the Washington D.C. area!! Light, refreshing and a great combination of flavors. My only substitution was onion powder in place of the raw onions (personal preference). I'm sure this did change the *bite* of the salad slightly. Do not skip the prosciutto because the salty/sweet combination is great with the asian pears! My pears did not caramelize to a nice brown color, so I added a tablespoon of organic agave nectar to help them turn a more golden color. Make sure not to slice your pear too thin because they will become overcooked easily. I will definitely be making this salad again for friends and family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Carmelizing the pears & walnuts is easy...and delicious. Guys & girls love this recipe. I've made it several times already. With shame I admit that I have never made the dressing part...I use (gasp) store bought Vinaigrette! Still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a good idea for a recipe, I just had a caramelized pear salad at a restaurant and wanted to try it myself. I skipped the Prosciutto because I'm a vegetarian and I cut the recipe in half because there were only 3 of us eating (and I knew I'd have seconds). I was wary of the dressing right after I made it (the orange juice did reduce, it didn't take forever but that may have been because I halved the whole recipe) so I put it on the side. The three of us all enjoyed the dressing quite a bit, despite initial apprehension. Without even reading any of the reviews, I peeked in my fridge and just knew that goat cheese would be great in it. I served the caramelized stuff on the side because my boyfriend doesn't care for pears and our guest doesn't care for nuts! I know that that probably affects the overall distribution but hey, I thought it was pretty good. Maybe next time I'll try it with fake bacon instead of prosciutto? This recipe does take a long time to prepare, the dressing, especially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was just ok. The pears were gooey and the dressing tasted unremarkable and took forever to reduce. Plus I only used about 1/3 of the dressing and the salad was still heavy on the dressing. I wanted this salad to seem extra special bu it was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I used two Bartlett pears and that was perfect for 2 small bunches of lettuce (I used 1 romaine and 1 green leaf). I used pre-made OJ and cut the amount in half (overpowering flavor). After the dressing was blended I returned it to the stove and added cornstarch (mixed w/ water to get rid of lumps, of course) to thicken the dressing, and after that it was perfect. Oh, and I used honey instead of sugar. To the salad, I added dried cranberries and goat cheese. The flavors were AMAZING. My pears/walnuts didn't have the glaze that you think of when you hear "caramelized," and I almost dumped out all the liquid in the pan. Luckily I didn't because the sweetened pear juice was DELICIOUS. I ended up with about twice as much dressing as I needed for this salad, but we'll use it til it's gone--we loved it! (Thanksgiving Sleeper Hit)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States