Salad Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great idea! A fun and delicious way to serve salad. Serve in a deviled egg tray for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a great appetizer for the office parties when everyone is on a diet. I use reduced calorie ranch and spinach chopped with the romaine. You can use almost any colorful veggie, ie, green and red peppers, carrots, small pieces of brocolli and even red cabbage. This always gets oooohhh and ahhhs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I used half Salami and half Ham. Also used italian Salad dressing(good Seasons)with olive oil and balsamic Vinegar. Did use Romaine, you need the crunch and did put a thin slice Swiss cheese (looked like a toothpick) on top. NO Parmesan. Cooked the shells the day before and finished it up just before the party, I made 24 peaces, but could have had 48 shells. They where gone within 10 minutes. Friends came back for seconds and thirds. What a hit!!!1 EVERYONE LOVED THE SHELLS. GREAT RECEPICE, I served it on a deviled egg tray. Ingrid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I decided to make these last night. I used finely chopped tomato, black olives and spinach with zesty Italian dressing. Stuffed the shells and placed 3 on a bed of lettuce. Looked great and tasted the same. But next time I will also add broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aviston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent for a potluck! I sub'd ~1/2 C sweet orange peppers for the salami, and used the "Absolutely Fabulous Greek House Dressing" on this site blended with 1/2 C cream cheese to make the dressing less runny. I stirred the Parmesan into the salad to make it 'neater' to handle. I did need to add 1 more minute of boiling to my shells - they were raw tasting at 8 minutes, but the measurements fill exactly 18 shells. Fun, easy & tidy - perfect for me. Thx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Omg !!!!!! I served these shells for Christmas everyone loved them ..... and i did add some of indredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.cookinvigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
These were really good and super cute on an egg plate. I needed these to be creamy to fit with our dinner so I used a mix of what I had on hand: light red kidney beans, cucumber, green onions, black olives, and the romaine and used a homemade ranch as our dressing and topped with a bit of shredded cheese. We loved these and I love the fact that you can make them to suit what dinner your having. Such a clever idea thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Did not have all the listed ingredients - just made a big tossed chop salad with romaine lettuce, cukes, tomatoes, red onion, shredded carrot, a little shredded parmesan cheese toasted almonds and croutons. Tossed half with italian dressing and half with Catalina (red) dressing. Drizzled more dressing on top and sprinkled with more cheese. Took them to a pot luck - total hit. Next time I am in a hurry for a pot luck dish, I think I might just buy deli salad and stuff with that - tried a few at home with the broccoli salad - was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Okay, a qualifier: I did not actually try the salad recipe, but the idea of using large shells as the vehicle for any salad is ingenious! I can't believe I have never seen this before. I have a tuna/pasta salad recipe that I plan on serving using this idea rather than mixing the pasta with the salad. The only change I would make is to boil the pasta in highly salted water {salty like the sea}.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This rating is based mainly on the idea and presentation. Made this last night for appetizers served on deviled egg trays. I had a total of 44 large shells. The fillings I used were chicken salad, tuna salad, ham salad and a variation of the salad ingredients listed. This turned out beautiful! Was enjoyed by everyone and there were no leftovers. A keeper for sure. Thanks, Micki, for sharing a delicious, new idea!! Will be using this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States