Salad Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This rating is based mainly on the idea and presentation. Made this last night for appetizers served on deviled egg trays. I had a total of 44 large shells. The fillings I used were chicken salad, tuna salad, ham salad and a variation of the salad ingredients listed. This turned out beautiful! Was enjoyed by everyone and there were no leftovers. A keeper for sure. Thanks, Micki, for sharing a delicious, new idea!! Will be using this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
To reduce the fat even more, I use turkey pepperoni, and substitute fresh baby spinach leaves rather than the romaine. I'll also chopped up some water chestnuts to add a little crunch. Red wine vinegar with just a little olive oil also reduced the sodium that store-bought vinaigrettes might have :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a great appetizer for the office parties when everyone is on a diet. I use reduced calorie ranch and spinach chopped with the romaine. You can use almost any colorful veggie, ie, green and red peppers, carrots, small pieces of brocolli and even red cabbage. This always gets oooohhh and ahhhs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great idea! A fun and delicious way to serve salad. Serve in a deviled egg tray for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Okay, a qualifier: I did not actually try the salad recipe, but the idea of using large shells as the vehicle for any salad is ingenious! I can't believe I have never seen this before. I have a tuna/pasta salad recipe that I plan on serving using this idea rather than mixing the pasta with the salad. The only change I would make is to boil the pasta in highly salted water {salty like the sea}.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I will give this recipe for stars because it's a great idea, but the salad recipe here is just so-so. I would like to experiment with other filling options; the sky's the limit for the potential here! Def a fun party idea to serve appetizers!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Not too shabby! Was definitely a hit at my workplace's holiday party. I nixed the meat to make it vegetarian friendly. I also nixed the dressing and instead brought a few different dressings for people to choose from. It worked really well because the shells would catch any seeping dressing and people appreciated having the choice. The onion was a little overpowering, but overall, what a fun way to present! OH, I highly recommend using a deviled egg tray like in the photo...otherwise, it can be a little difficult to present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Five stars for this being a FANTASTIC presentation idea!!! But for the actual stuffing recipe..... blah. Made it but didn't care for it, so made my own pasta salad my way. Chunks, (not slices) of salami, ham & pepperoni, chunks of swiss & a yellow cheddar cheese, diced roma tomatoes (pat dry with paper towels), diced English cucumbers (keep skin on), black olives, and diced red onion. Marinate it all in Zesty Italian dressing overnight. Stuff shells before serving. As for the romaine lettuce; garnish the platter with it ..... that way guests can grab a piece themselves IF they want it! Sliced pepperoncini's are a nice addition too for some zing, using some of the juice added to marinade! Ultimately... I would suggest using "YOUR" favorite salad recipe, whether it be egg salad, ham salad, tangy broccoli cheese salad, chicken salad, tuna salad, crab or seafood salad, antipasto, etc. Just remember to add some "crunchies" in the stuffing, such as the cukes and onion; or try celery, diced carrots, water chestnuts, radishes or red and/or green peppers, broccoli and/or cauliflower. Kidney beans or black beans sound like a great addition, too! Next time for a pot luck I am doing a combination of a few different varieties for guests to choose from! :) Thank You Micki, you are so creative!!! Tip: Cook shells al dente and rinse in cold water, then leave out to fully dry, before stuffing. Makes it a easy & clean job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
These were really good and super cute on an egg plate. I needed these to be creamy to fit with our dinner so I used a mix of what I had on hand: light red kidney beans, cucumber, green onions, black olives, and the romaine and used a homemade ranch as our dressing and topped with a bit of shredded cheese. We loved these and I love the fact that you can make them to suit what dinner your having. Such a clever idea thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I decided to make these last night. I used finely chopped tomato, black olives and spinach with zesty Italian dressing. Stuffed the shells and placed 3 on a bed of lettuce. Looked great and tasted the same. But next time I will also add broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aviston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States