Salad Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
To reduce the fat even more, I use turkey pepperoni, and substitute fresh baby spinach leaves rather than the romaine. I'll also chopped up some water chestnuts to add a little crunch. Red wine vinegar with just a little olive oil also reduced the sodium that store-bought vinaigrettes might have :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great idea! A fun and delicious way to serve salad. Serve in a deviled egg tray for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Okay, a qualifier: I did not actually try the salad recipe, but the idea of using large shells as the vehicle for any salad is ingenious! I can't believe I have never seen this before. I have a tuna/pasta salad recipe that I plan on serving using this idea rather than mixing the pasta with the salad. The only change I would make is to boil the pasta in highly salted water {salty like the sea}.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a great appetizer for the office parties when everyone is on a diet. I use reduced calorie ranch and spinach chopped with the romaine. You can use almost any colorful veggie, ie, green and red peppers, carrots, small pieces of brocolli and even red cabbage. This always gets oooohhh and ahhhs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This rating is based mainly on the idea and presentation. Made this last night for appetizers served on deviled egg trays. I had a total of 44 large shells. The fillings I used were chicken salad, tuna salad, ham salad and a variation of the salad ingredients listed. This turned out beautiful! Was enjoyed by everyone and there were no leftovers. A keeper for sure. Thanks, Micki, for sharing a delicious, new idea!! Will be using this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Omg !!!!!! I served these shells for Christmas everyone loved them ..... and i did add some of indredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.cookinvigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Not too shabby! Was definitely a hit at my workplace's holiday party. I nixed the meat to make it vegetarian friendly. I also nixed the dressing and instead brought a few different dressings for people to choose from. It worked really well because the shells would catch any seeping dressing and people appreciated having the choice. The onion was a little overpowering, but overall, what a fun way to present! OH, I highly recommend using a deviled egg tray like in the photo...otherwise, it can be a little difficult to present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth W. Mays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made this for a gathering, and it was a hit! I used 1/2 of a grape tomato on top , which made for a lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
We enjoyed this with a Father's Day barbecue at our home yesterday. It was a favorite of several of our friends and I would make it again. Such a terrific way to serve a simple side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I used half Salami and half Ham. Also used italian Salad dressing(good Seasons)with olive oil and balsamic Vinegar. Did use Romaine, you need the crunch and did put a thin slice Swiss cheese (looked like a toothpick) on top. NO Parmesan. Cooked the shells the day before and finished it up just before the party, I made 24 peaces, but could have had 48 shells. They where gone within 10 minutes. Friends came back for seconds and thirds. What a hit!!!1 EVERYONE LOVED THE SHELLS. GREAT RECEPICE, I served it on a deviled egg tray. Ingrid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States