Salad Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Five stars for this being a FANTASTIC presentation idea!!! But for the actual stuffing recipe..... blah. Made it but didn't care for it, so made my own pasta salad my way. Chunks, (not slices) of salami, ham & pepperoni, chunks of swiss & a yellow cheddar cheese, diced roma tomatoes (pat dry with paper towels), diced English cucumbers (keep skin on), black olives, and diced red onion. Marinate it all in Zesty Italian dressing overnight. Stuff shells before serving. As for the romaine lettuce; garnish the platter with it ..... that way guests can grab a piece themselves IF they want it! Sliced pepperoncini's are a nice addition too for some zing, using some of the juice added to marinade! Ultimately... I would suggest using "YOUR" favorite salad recipe, whether it be egg salad, ham salad, tangy broccoli cheese salad, chicken salad, tuna salad, crab or seafood salad, antipasto, etc. Just remember to add some "crunchies" in the stuffing, such as the cukes and onion; or try celery, diced carrots, water chestnuts, radishes or red and/or green peppers, broccoli and/or cauliflower. Kidney beans or black beans sound like a great addition, too! Next time for a pot luck I am doing a combination of a few different varieties for guests to choose from! :) Thank You Micki, you are so creative!!! Tip: Cook shells al dente and rinse in cold water, then leave out to fully dry, before stuffing. Makes it a easy & clean job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
made my own chopped salad and stuffed the shells while they were cold. it was a fun way to serve salad! thanks for the post Micki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent for a potluck! I sub'd ~1/2 C sweet orange peppers for the salami, and used the "Absolutely Fabulous Greek House Dressing" on this site blended with 1/2 C cream cheese to make the dressing less runny. I stirred the Parmesan into the salad to make it 'neater' to handle. I did need to add 1 more minute of boiling to my shells - they were raw tasting at 8 minutes, but the measurements fill exactly 18 shells. Fun, easy & tidy - perfect for me. Thx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
These were really good and super cute on an egg plate. I needed these to be creamy to fit with our dinner so I used a mix of what I had on hand: light red kidney beans, cucumber, green onions, black olives, and the romaine and used a homemade ranch as our dressing and topped with a bit of shredded cheese. We loved these and I love the fact that you can make them to suit what dinner your having. Such a clever idea thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Very original way to serve pasta salad. Family thought it was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I decided to make these last night. I used finely chopped tomato, black olives and spinach with zesty Italian dressing. Stuffed the shells and placed 3 on a bed of lettuce. Looked great and tasted the same. But next time I will also add broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aviston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Did not have all the listed ingredients - just made a big tossed chop salad with romaine lettuce, cukes, tomatoes, red onion, shredded carrot, a little shredded parmesan cheese toasted almonds and croutons. Tossed half with italian dressing and half with Catalina (red) dressing. Drizzled more dressing on top and sprinkled with more cheese. Took them to a pot luck - total hit. Next time I am in a hurry for a pot luck dish, I think I might just buy deli salad and stuff with that - tried a few at home with the broccoli salad - was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I will give this recipe for stars because it's a great idea, but the salad recipe here is just so-so. I would like to experiment with other filling options; the sky's the limit for the potential here! Def a fun party idea to serve appetizers!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I used half Salami and half Ham. Also used italian Salad dressing(good Seasons)with olive oil and balsamic Vinegar. Did use Romaine, you need the crunch and did put a thin slice Swiss cheese (looked like a toothpick) on top. NO Parmesan. Cooked the shells the day before and finished it up just before the party, I made 24 peaces, but could have had 48 shells. They where gone within 10 minutes. Friends came back for seconds and thirds. What a hit!!!1 EVERYONE LOVED THE SHELLS. GREAT RECEPICE, I served it on a deviled egg tray. Ingrid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
We enjoyed this with a Father's Day barbecue at our home yesterday. It was a favorite of several of our friends and I would make it again. Such a terrific way to serve a simple side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States