Salad Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I decided to make these last night. I used finely chopped tomato, black olives and spinach with zesty Italian dressing. Stuffed the shells and placed 3 on a bed of lettuce. Looked great and tasted the same. But next time I will also add broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aviston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Did not have all the listed ingredients - just made a big tossed chop salad with romaine lettuce, cukes, tomatoes, red onion, shredded carrot, a little shredded parmesan cheese toasted almonds and croutons. Tossed half with italian dressing and half with Catalina (red) dressing. Drizzled more dressing on top and sprinkled with more cheese. Took them to a pot luck - total hit. Next time I am in a hurry for a pot luck dish, I think I might just buy deli salad and stuff with that - tried a few at home with the broccoli salad - was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I will give this recipe for stars because it's a great idea, but the salad recipe here is just so-so. I would like to experiment with other filling options; the sky's the limit for the potential here! Def a fun party idea to serve appetizers!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I used half Salami and half Ham. Also used italian Salad dressing(good Seasons)with olive oil and balsamic Vinegar. Did use Romaine, you need the crunch and did put a thin slice Swiss cheese (looked like a toothpick) on top. NO Parmesan. Cooked the shells the day before and finished it up just before the party, I made 24 peaces, but could have had 48 shells. They where gone within 10 minutes. Friends came back for seconds and thirds. What a hit!!!1 EVERYONE LOVED THE SHELLS. GREAT RECEPICE, I served it on a deviled egg tray. Ingrid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
We enjoyed this with a Father's Day barbecue at our home yesterday. It was a favorite of several of our friends and I would make it again. Such a terrific way to serve a simple side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made this for a gathering, and it was a hit! I used 1/2 of a grape tomato on top , which made for a lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Not too shabby! Was definitely a hit at my workplace's holiday party. I nixed the meat to make it vegetarian friendly. I also nixed the dressing and instead brought a few different dressings for people to choose from. It worked really well because the shells would catch any seeping dressing and people appreciated having the choice. The onion was a little overpowering, but overall, what a fun way to present! OH, I highly recommend using a deviled egg tray like in the photo...otherwise, it can be a little difficult to present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Omg !!!!!! I served these shells for Christmas everyone loved them ..... and i did add some of indredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.cookinvigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bessemer City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This rating is based mainly on the idea and presentation. Made this last night for appetizers served on deviled egg trays. I had a total of 44 large shells. The fillings I used were chicken salad, tuna salad, ham salad and a variation of the salad ingredients listed. This turned out beautiful! Was enjoyed by everyone and there were no leftovers. A keeper for sure. Thanks, Micki, for sharing a delicious, new idea!! Will be using this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a great appetizer for the office parties when everyone is on a diet. I use reduced calorie ranch and spinach chopped with the romaine. You can use almost any colorful veggie, ie, green and red peppers, carrots, small pieces of brocolli and even red cabbage. This always gets oooohhh and ahhhs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States