Saint Paddy's Irish Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Recipe Group: So good! I subbed honey mustard in the vinagraitte, and for the sandwich I used yellow mustard mixed with a bit of horseradish and black pepper. I nuked my cabbage for 60 seconds before pouring on the dressing to help wilt it down a bit. Delicious, different sandwich to use up my leftover Guinness Corned Beef, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We loved this. The only thing I changed is that I used Orowheat thins for the bread because this is what I had on hand and I I couldn't stand the thought of a "reuben" without cheese and so I shredded some swiss. Tasty stuff. Thanks bignosekate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe caught my eye because the cabbage wasn't cooked. I may be Irish but never did like sauerkraut. I cheated a bit, I had some very lean top loin corned beef from the deli. I made my cabbage mixture early in the day and let it sit in the fridge all day to marinate. I used cider vinegar and left out the salt and just kept throwing in shredded cabbage until it reached the right consistency. After I had my sandwich put together I decided to heat it up, so put it in my convection microwave on 350° until the Swiss cheese melted. Heating it was a great idea. Served with dill pickle wedges and chips. I'm not waiting until St. Patrick's day to make this great tasting sandwich again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Loved it!!!! I made the sandwiches Panini style on the stovetop and added some Swiss cheese. I will forever make my ruebens with coleslaw instead of kraut, so much better! Used recipe "corned beef for sandwiches" off this site for the meat as it is the best I have ever tried. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This recipe is wonderful. I was out of spicy mustard so I used half yellow mustard and half horseradish. Also, like other viewers I added swiss cheese and I also sliced some tomatoes for us adults. And I marinated the cabbage ahead of time so it had time to absorb. There was too much cabbage leftover, but perhaps that's because I added other things to the sandwich. Next time I will probably half the cabbage and marinade. Overall, it was Excellent, my kids loved it, my husband loved it and I loved it! Great recipe! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of months ago, and my entire family loved it and wanted more. Like another reviewer, I made it Panini style. My cabbage was cooked because I was using up leftovers. It still worked wonderfully. Thank you for this recipe. The balsamic vinegar is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! I did use 'Braised Corned Beef Brisket' recipe from here for the corned beef and I also used our favorite vinegar slaw. Loved the use of the toasted sourdough and the addition of the spicy brown mustard. I followed others and added some swiss...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Fabulous combination of ingredients. Loved it! I used a different recipe for the corned beef ... the cabbage slaw makes this sandwich great! (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*). Looking forward to another and another and another. Thanks bignosekate for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is my recipe..we make this every St Patrick's day. As for the recipe, I shred the corned beef I do not slice it! So you have a layer of shredded cabbage salad, shredded corned beef, all sandwiched between good sourdough. (I like to buy a french baguette from Panera Bread). Yum. Also, you can make any kind of vinaigrette you like. Mine was only a suggestion. I currently use the ratio: 3 TBL olive oil, 2 TBL red wine vinegar, 1 tsp greek oregano, and sometimes a pinch of sugar for a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Served this to 8 people for book group and it was a huge success. Everyone loved them. I will definitely make again and not just for St. Patty's Day. I made the recipe exactly as stated and used sourdough wheat bread. So flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States