Saint Paddy's Irish Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of months ago, and my entire family loved it and wanted more. Like another reviewer, I made it Panini style. My cabbage was cooked because I was using up leftovers. It still worked wonderfully. Thank you for this recipe. The balsamic vinegar is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Loved it!!!! I made the sandwiches Panini style on the stovetop and added some Swiss cheese. I will forever make my ruebens with coleslaw instead of kraut, so much better! Used recipe "corned beef for sandwiches" off this site for the meat as it is the best I have ever tried. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe caught my eye because the cabbage wasn't cooked. I may be Irish but never did like sauerkraut. I cheated a bit, I had some very lean top loin corned beef from the deli. I made my cabbage mixture early in the day and let it sit in the fridge all day to marinate. I used cider vinegar and left out the salt and just kept throwing in shredded cabbage until it reached the right consistency. After I had my sandwich put together I decided to heat it up, so put it in my convection microwave on 350° until the Swiss cheese melted. Heating it was a great idea. Served with dill pickle wedges and chips. I'm not waiting until St. Patrick's day to make this great tasting sandwich again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This recipe is wonderful. I was out of spicy mustard so I used half yellow mustard and half horseradish. Also, like other viewers I added swiss cheese and I also sliced some tomatoes for us adults. And I marinated the cabbage ahead of time so it had time to absorb. There was too much cabbage leftover, but perhaps that's because I added other things to the sandwich. Next time I will probably half the cabbage and marinade. Overall, it was Excellent, my kids loved it, my husband loved it and I loved it! Great recipe! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Served this to 8 people for book group and it was a huge success. Everyone loved them. I will definitely make again and not just for St. Patty's Day. I made the recipe exactly as stated and used sourdough wheat bread. So flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We loved this. The only thing I changed is that I used Orowheat thins for the bread because this is what I had on hand and I I couldn't stand the thought of a "reuben" without cheese and so I shredded some swiss. Tasty stuff. Thanks bignosekate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is my recipe..we make this every St Patrick's day. As for the recipe, I shred the corned beef I do not slice it! So you have a layer of shredded cabbage salad, shredded corned beef, all sandwiched between good sourdough. (I like to buy a french baguette from Panera Bread). Yum. Also, you can make any kind of vinaigrette you like. Mine was only a suggestion. I currently use the ratio: 3 TBL olive oil, 2 TBL red wine vinegar, 1 tsp greek oregano, and sometimes a pinch of sugar for a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was a great sandwich. The only thing I would change is swap the cabbage with a cole slaw mix. The cabbage did not absorb the sauce, which was delicious. So I would marinate the cabbage ahead of time. My whole family, kids and hubby ate these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Wanted something different to make and the family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States