Saint Paddy's Irish Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of months ago, and my entire family loved it and wanted more. Like another reviewer, I made it Panini style. My cabbage was cooked because I was using up leftovers. It still worked wonderfully. Thank you for this recipe. The balsamic vinegar is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Loved it!!!! I made the sandwiches Panini style on the stovetop and added some Swiss cheese. I will forever make my ruebens with coleslaw instead of kraut, so much better! Used recipe "corned beef for sandwiches" off this site for the meat as it is the best I have ever tried. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe caught my eye because the cabbage wasn't cooked. I may be Irish but never did like sauerkraut. I cheated a bit, I had some very lean top loin corned beef from the deli. I made my cabbage mixture early in the day and let it sit in the fridge all day to marinate. I used cider vinegar and left out the salt and just kept throwing in shredded cabbage until it reached the right consistency. After I had my sandwich put together I decided to heat it up, so put it in my convection microwave on 350° until the Swiss cheese melted. Heating it was a great idea. Served with dill pickle wedges and chips. I'm not waiting until St. Patrick's day to make this great tasting sandwich again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This recipe is wonderful. I was out of spicy mustard so I used half yellow mustard and half horseradish. Also, like other viewers I added swiss cheese and I also sliced some tomatoes for us adults. And I marinated the cabbage ahead of time so it had time to absorb. There was too much cabbage leftover, but perhaps that's because I added other things to the sandwich. Next time I will probably half the cabbage and marinade. Overall, it was Excellent, my kids loved it, my husband loved it and I loved it! Great recipe! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Served this to 8 people for book group and it was a huge success. Everyone loved them. I will definitely make again and not just for St. Patty's Day. I made the recipe exactly as stated and used sourdough wheat bread. So flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We loved this. The only thing I changed is that I used Orowheat thins for the bread because this is what I had on hand and I I couldn't stand the thought of a "reuben" without cheese and so I shredded some swiss. Tasty stuff. Thanks bignosekate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is my recipe..we make this every St Patrick's day. As for the recipe, I shred the corned beef I do not slice it! So you have a layer of shredded cabbage salad, shredded corned beef, all sandwiched between good sourdough. (I like to buy a french baguette from Panera Bread). Yum. Also, you can make any kind of vinaigrette you like. Mine was only a suggestion. I currently use the ratio: 3 TBL olive oil, 2 TBL red wine vinegar, 1 tsp greek oregano, and sometimes a pinch of sugar for a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bignosekate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was a great sandwich. The only thing I would change is swap the cabbage with a cole slaw mix. The cabbage did not absorb the sauce, which was delicious. So I would marinate the cabbage ahead of time. My whole family, kids and hubby ate these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Wanted something different to make and the family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States