Sailor Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Hi! I'm the submitter of this recipe. Just wanted to say that I only add 1 cup or 1 1/2 cups of water. After cooking the onions, garlic,..etc, add the clams and stir to mix all the ingredients together, then add the water/flour mixture and stir constantly until the sauce thickens. If you desire a lighter version, then add more cooking water (personally, i like it pretty thick). I always strain and freeze the remaining cooking water, so i can use it later in my stews, soups, etc...). Hope you like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, and I realy enjoyed last night (as a tapa dish). One modification: I do not add too much water to the pan to steam the clams, only a thin layer of water to prevent from burning the bottom of the clams. The clams will start loosing liquid very quickly, and this will be enough to make a rich sauce. If you need more liquid, then add it after adding the thickener- this way you wll never go wrong with the amount of liquid in the sauce! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Fabulous flavor! The only problem I had was that the sauce didn't really thicken. I think I may have used too much water when I boiled the clams, and I put all of that water into the sauce. Next time I will use less water to boil the clams. However . . . I did save the broth in the freezer for when I make a chowder. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
i found it easier to do step #2 first, then add the water and boil the clams -making it a one pan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmazonToAndes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Delicious and delicate flavour. This is my favourite type of recipe, simple and elegant. My boyfriend and I enjoyed this with a fresh loaf of crusty bread and bottle of white wine. Clams are relatively expensive here so I had to substitute 1/2 of them with shrimp, it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAshley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I tried this recipe and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Was pretty good. I may attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States