Sage Sausage Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I used the AR recipe for biscuit mix, and added 2 tsp. sage because I used turkey sausage. The recipe was easy to make, and tastes great! By using 2 8" pie pans instead of a 9x13 pan, I baked these for only 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I just made this to give as gifts and have gotten rave reviews. I made them in mini loaf pans and they were the perfect size. My husband is just going on and on about how awesome this is! I'm going back to the store to get stuff take make my third double batch! FYI . . . on the second batch, I didn't drain the sausage because I didn't think there was very much grease, but it did prevent the bread from rising as much as my first batch, so I would definitely make sure you drain the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
i made this for work, using them as guinea pigs, wanting to make at christmas for the family...i brought it in at 8 in the morning and by 9:15 it was gone!!! really easy, a little dry i had to add a little more milk, not much, but it came out really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
this bread was excellant ..with a few modifications i read a lot that "bread was good but dry" so i doubled the milk an added a few splashes of half an half also added some olives an sharp cheddar. THE BREAD WAS GREAT AN VERY MOIST! hubby took a loaf to work an it was gone! this is a def keeper!! Also pay special close attention to baking time making sure not to over cook, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerri-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good! I used 1lb. of "hot" sausage instead, cuz I couldn't find the sage. It was a little dry, kinda crumbly, so next time I will add a little more milk. The taste was very good, and we all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Tasted just as good as I thought it would. I even changed up some of the ingredients just so I wouldn't have to go to the store, and it came out great. It's apparently a versatile recipe! One criticism: I will cook it somewhat shorter than recommended next time- probably 30 minutes then check. This first batch came out a little too overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natureboyms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was really good. My only complaint was that it was a little too salty. Next time I'll cut back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Really salty. I might try it again, but I would definitely cut down on any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I loved this recipe!! I added about a 1/2 cup more swiss cheese because I am a cheese lover. I made it on Xmas Eve, put it in the fridge for the next morning and just heated it up for Xmas Day breakfast. All my 3 male roommates loved it and they all said it should be a tradition every holiday! I noticed that the better it is, is because of the sausage. I always get homemade sausage vs. store bought and it tastes much better with homemade sausage. I wonder how it would taste with breakfast sausage?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Charlebois

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Banff, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Fed a crowd with this and was easy to make. I used the pan I browned sausage in to make a momlette, And yes, the leftovers worked too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States