Sage Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now. I have followed the suggestion of others and omit the salt from the rub...with the bouillon cube it really isn't nec to have salt in the rub... I just use sage...pepper & I tried a sm amt of poultry seasoning for the rub....works perfectly. I also use enough cornstarch to thicken the liquid left in the pan after cooking the chops to make a gravy.....and I now add a bit of sherry and a touch of cream for a wonderful sauce to top the chops with....family loves it!! Made it along with a simple rice and steamed broccoli... great meal & simple enough for week night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
great flavor, tender when done. Would try gravy/potatoes/stuffing next time or an apple chutney or sweet chili sauce to complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Finally a wonderful moist pork chop. I used only 1 teaspoon salt and everything else exactly what the recipe stated. Bouillon has a lot of salt already. I used unsalted butter because that is what I had open. I could have pulled the chops out at 30 minutes but they would not have been as tender. 45 minutes was perfect for medium thickness chops. Not sure how time will work with thick chops. After 20 years my husband said I finally found a pork chop recipe that he loves. I normally rotisserie pork roast to keep pork moist and now I finally have and alternate. I added flour to the pan after removing chops for a bit of gravy that I drizzled over chops. Not heavy just a drizzle and it was fabulous. Thank you for this easy yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Only need about 1/2 cup broth. Don't overcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Unfortunately this recipe came out very salty - way too salty. The pork chops were very tender, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My favorite recipe for pork chops ever. Only change I made was to use boneless pork chops and less salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nathalie
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I've tweaked the recipe around; crush together into a paste 3 cloves of garlic, pinch of salt, peppercorn, few leaves of sage, thyme, 1tsp mustard seeds, olive oil. Rub on pork chops and fry in 2tbsp butter until one side is slightly brown, turn over then sprinkle over the top chopped onions (1/2 white, 1/2 red), fry until caramelised. Remove chops and 1/2 of the fried onions from pan, add beef stock and boil for couple of minutes with cornflour to thicken, amazing gravy...and voila chopsters are ready!! I served them with mashed potato&swede and broccoli..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was a new flavor for me. My family and I enjoyed it. I recommend using a natural, uncured pork chop. The taste is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
These were a big hit! I didn't have bouillon cubes, so I just added water when it was time for the chops to simmer, and they still turned out great! My chops were thick, so the cooking time was perfect. And they weren't too salty, since there was no broth added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I am not a fan of bouillon cubes. I subbed a small amount of no sodium broth mixed with maybe a tablespoon of packaged beef gravy for 2 medium thickness bone-in pork chops. I added a small onion and sliced garlic to the gravy. Simmered on LOW for the 45 minutes produced a tasty, moist chop. I also use a quality butcher meat- You get what you pay for when it comes to meat!! That's a fact jack!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States