Sage Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I used boneless pork chops and omitted the salt and these turned out perfect! They were very juicy and flavorful and they were plenty enough salty from the bouillon alone (I think they would have been much too salty with the extra 2 tsp. salt). At the end of cooking time I removed the chops from the pan and thickened the juices with 3 tablespoons cornstarch mixed with 3 tablespoons cold water and it made a nice, thick, brown gravy that had a very good flavor. I served the chops and gravy with mashed potatoes and broccoli spears. This was a delicious, easy meal that I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
570 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This is a great way to cook pork chops fork tender. I did a variation on this. I used rosemary and thyme instead of sage because it was all I had. I also cut out the salt in favor of fresh garlic. I used "Better Than Bouillon" in a jar at most grocery stores, instead of dry cubes because it is more of a beef stock reduction than regular cubes. I also used 1 1/2 inch thick chops and reduced the simmer time down to 30 minutes. Tender tastey and a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dughr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
These were really really good. The 3rd time I made them, I used 1 tsp salt instead of two, 1 tsp of sage PER chop (i like sage,can ya tell?) beef broth, 4 whole cloves of fresh garlic and I cut up 1 medium yellow onion. I took other users advice and thickend it up with 3 tbs corn starch and 3 tbs cold water. Came out awesome! Thanks! Edit* After going back after several months and reading reviews after I made this one, I would recommend timing your cooking to the thickness of the chops. It seems the thinner ones will dry out and you might need to cut back on the frying/cooking time, Just a suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Best and Easiest Pork Chops Ever! Instead of using the bouilion cubes, I just poured a can of beef broth (reduced sodium) over the chops. I had 3 boneless and sauteed them for 5 min per side then added the broth and simmered for 25 minutes. Added 3 TB cornstarch and 3 TB water mix to broth after removing pork chops. Made the best gravy ever. Will make this a stable in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I used boneless chops and only cooked them for 1/2 hour. Even that was too long. Had it been any longer, they would have been inedible. I recommend browning for 3 minutes per side, then cooking on the low setting for 15 or 20 minutes. Check the inside of the meat at that point. 45 minutes cook time seems completely unreasonable, unless the chops are super thick or you prefer them dry as the desert. I did not like the overwhelming sage flavor, which comes across better as a more subtle flavor in most meats, I think. After reading the reviews, I didn't use any salt at first, but then added 1/2 teaspoon or so after tasting. I doubled the water and bouillon mixture because I needed more gravy. I added 2 tablespoons and 1 teaspoon corn starch to thicken the gravy after removing the meat. The gravy was wonderful, but I will not prepare the meat again without reducing the cook times and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
My family loved these pork chops!! I had no problem with the salt content. Then again, I did use really thick pork chops. However, if you would like to change the amount of salt. You can buy low sodium boullion. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
GREAT recipe! I substituted 1 tsp. garlic powder for the 2 tsp. salt, used chicken bouillon because I didn't have beef, and used Smart Balance instead of regular butter/margarine. Came out delicious! I made the gravy with cornstarch and water and it was the icing on the cake! My husband and my 4-year-old practically inhaled it! This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks Tiffany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This was a nice simple way to fix pork chops. They were not what I would call exceptional, but they were good. Cutting back on the salt is a must. I only used 1/4 t. in the rub and used low sodium chicken broth for the sauce. I thought that made the salt content perfect. I also used a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce. It was good over garlic mashed potatoes. The sage did add a little extra flavor to both the meat and sauce. Next time I will try adding some onions to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
It was good and I will try it again - I only had thin chops so I cut down the cooking time and I used canned beef broth rather than having to play with the water and cubes and it worked out fine. I also followed other viewers suggestions and sauted some onions and mushrooms. Served it with mashed potatoes using the gravy from the chops. Next time I will use thicker chops and I think what I now consider a good recipe might be a great recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
These were very tasty. I used beef broth, and I will also be cutting the salt next time. I thickened the broth and added about a cup of light sour cream, which made a great sauce for these very tender pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States