Sage Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Family not real crazy about this one, will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This smelled fabulous as it was cooking! Sauce is really good too so don't forget to save it for dipping the chops into! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is wonderfully favorful and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is an incredible tasting and incredibly easy recipe! I used a fraction of the salt though. I don't like salty food and the beef bouillon provides plenty of salt to begin with. My husband loved it and so did my two young children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
very good! I made a few adjustments after reading the other reviews and one major change was that I began this on the stove and transferred it to the oven to cook for an hour on 400'. To reduce the impact of the salt I added sliced potatoes on top of the chops before baking and topped it all with cracked black pepper & parmigiana regiano. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina p

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
WAY too salty....no even edible and I follwed the recipe exactly. Maybe if I used half the salt it would be good. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I bought some rather thinly sliced chops, so I knew there was a danger of getting them overdone/dry/tough. I used Smart Balance cooking oil instead of butter and seared them at very high heat for only 2 1/2 to 3 minutes on each side. I have discovered when cooking meat in liquid that it is less likely to dry out and get tough if the liquid is thickened and kind of gloopy. I increased the amount of water by about a cup, added more buillion, and put in a tablespoon of guar gum ( a thickener found in health food stores), so that before I ever started simmering the chops the gravy was thickened. I also found it necessary to make a lot more of the sage rub than what the recipe called for. The chops were very tender and good when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Hubby and I enjoyed this recipe. i took the advice of others and cut down the salt to 1/2 tsp and used one can of beef broth instead of the boullion cubes. I carmelized onions in butter before adding pork chops to the skillet. After chops were done I used remaining juice for gravy which was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Hubby and I just made these, and the chops gets 4 stars. They were a bit dry even though we cooked them for 30 minutes. We added baby bella mushrooms to the chops and let them cook the entire 30 minutes. We didn't add salt at all based on other reviews and we're glad we didn't. I think I also used a little too much sage, but it was still pretty good. However, we did make gravy out of the drippings as other reviews recommended, and it was amazing. We took the chops out of the skillet after the 30 minutes, left the mushrooms in there, then added flour until it became thicker. Served with roasted potatoes that had been mixed with rosemary, onion powder, black pepper, and olive oil--absolutely amazing! Will make again, but not cook as long. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These pork chops were very good. I used beef broth instead of the bouillon. I used boneless pork chops and they were a little dry. I think next time i won't cook them quite the full 45 minutes. I'll just check for doneness with a meat thermometer. But this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States