Sage Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Came out great! I used beef broth and dry sage and turned it a few times during the 40-minute cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kev Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
These needed a lot more spices than was in the recipe. I had to brown in batches as even my biggest skillet was too small. No problem. I was able to work them in together during the simmer. Unfortunatley, I didn't have any beef boullion so used chicken instead. It was okay, just not really special. I did add about a TBS of cold butter in the sauce after removing chops from skillet to make a bit of sauce to go over the chops. I know that upped the calories, but wasn't much split 6 ways and added a lot of flavor spooned over the chops and the roasted potatoes I fixed with them. I would like to try making them again increasing the sage and salt and pepper and using the beef boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Came out a little dry, but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
If you leave out the salt and use low sodium boilion then you can say this is a low carb healthy dish. Way too much sodium otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner and we decided it was a keeper if I used less salt the next time. I thickened the sauce for a gravy and while everything had a good flavor, it was far too salty. The rub would be awesome on a roast, but for chops the salt needs to be cut at least in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I used quarter pork chops and added rosemary to the simmer sauce only sprinkled a litte salt on each pork chop very tasty served with mashed potatoes and green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Omitted the salt because of the amount of sodium in the the beef bouillon, and used four cups of water as the instructions on the box of cube beef bouillon. One cup of water as the recipe suggest would dry out I'm sure, as other reviews complained about. I also used Olive oil to brown the chops instead of the butter to make things a little healthier. Used four chops instead of six chops because it was larger chops that I had on hand. I cooked the chops as the recipe directed and they were absolutely one of the best recipes I have tried. Goes great with Garlic mash potato, and some asparagus, onion and fresh mushroom. Super tender and tasty. Will be making this recipe again but next I will make a gravy from the leftover broth as some other reviewers suggested. Thanks for the simple but great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonavista, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly since this was my first time making it. I cooked this in my new ceramic lined frying pan so they would not stick. They turned out awesome! I highly recommend first trying it per the directions. You may not want to make any changes the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Sorry did not care for this at all, really salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
These pork chops were very tasty, but in the future I will omit the salt and reduce the number cubes of beef bouillon (a tad salty). I may also reduce the cook time a bit. With those modifications I think it will suit my tastes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States