Sage Apple Chicken with Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Considering the rating I was really excited about this recipe and ended up being quite disappointed. It was good and worth making once, but I wont be making it again. I recommend that if you make this, marinate the apple slices with the chicken for at least half of the time and serve with asparagus. We served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel DePaoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was good, though I have some suggestions: More sage, slightly less time in the oven, and watch it carefully in the broiler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Excellent! I used Whoop Whoop Shiraz for the marinade, and it paired very well with the brie. I only marinaded it for 6 hours and it was still moist and very flavorful. It was a little difficult to eat with the apple slices on top, and the brie didn't melt so it wasn't mixed. If you aren't worried about presentation, maybe chop them up and mix them together? Also, the chicken is an alarming deep purple color. But VERY good. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This dish was odd. It is defiantly an acquired taste. It wasn't terrible but I don't think I would make it again. Surprisingly my boyfriend liked it and I didn't. He doesn't normally like meals like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justicesamsin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Was just ok. Didn't have sage so I used a little bit of Herbs de Provence...might have been why it wasn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This isn't the cheapest recipe in the book, but it is extremely simple and tastes like a gourmet dish from a fine restaurant - but served in our kitchen! My husband liked it, and I loved it. I used fresh sage when I baked it, as I'd run out of dried. Served it with a garlic/shallot/olive oil/white wine rice /green bean pilaf (impromptu concoction!), and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NZCaligal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe was fantastic. A very sophisticated flavor. The kids (age 7 and 8) didn't care for it too much, but my husband and I LOVED it. The red wine marinade does turn the chicken a purplish color, so don't be alarmed. I would recommend slicing the apples very thin and going a little heavy on the brie. That's what I did and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
i really liked the combination of flavors in this dish! My husband doesn't usually like brie and liked this dish. I didn't have red wine on hand, so I used white wine w/ a dash of red wine vinegar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States