Safta Miriam's Passover Seven Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It looked great, and it tasted even better! I would give it a 5-star, but I'm worried about the raw eggs. It just seems... "weird". The main reason cookie dough and brownie batter can't be eaten is because of the raw eggs. But the taste just too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
So delicious! This is a Passover dessert I will actually look forward to! It is amazing to see how many people this cake will feed. I received nearly two dozen variations on "yum." I only made one substitution: using the "don't cook with wine you won't drink" principle, I chose a semi-sweet kosher red wine, and will stick to this choice in the future. It was sweet enough without the cough-syrupy flavor of Manischewitz. A minor warning: make sure you either start shopping well ahead of time or go to a kosher grocery if you adhere strictly to Passover restrictions; finding chocolate without soy emulsifier is very difficult and I was unable to find margarine without soybean oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Relatives in Israel gave me the recipe so I was astonished to see it here! Egg concerns? Don't use them. It will turn out just fine. Wine concerns? Use grape juice, pomegranate or cherry juice and will be delicious. I sprinkle colored sprinkles on top instead of chocolate shavings. This serves a lot of people! And uses up matzoh. That's the point, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I use to make this and my family adored it. I stopped because of the concern over raw eggs. It is an absolutely fantastic recipe. You can make it a couple of days ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I plan to make this with the "upscale" suggestions but I will alter this to substitute pasturized egg yolks and egg whites for the raw ingrediants. Decorating the top with chocolate curls and/or candied fruits would add to eye appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Yummy. Pesach is nothing without a matza chocolate cake. Every year I try another recipe but no more. This is it. Amazing. Used 60% Elite dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marnie
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made this upscale, and people have been raving ever since! I followed most of the recipe- except... I toasted some macadamia nuts, then chopped them for the top and the sides. I also took some frozen whole cherries, chopped them, and put them all across the top. I did not use as much wine as mentioned, but did follow the soaking and poured some on top the night before I served it. It was incredible- and everyone has asked me for the delicious recipe! Thank you for bringing something delish to the usually not so delish passover dessert table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very interesting idea. I didn't think this was good, but the kids at the seder liked it a lot. Afterwards, I realized that raw eggs probably were not good to serve to them, but they seem okay now. I could see playing with the recipe to improve the taste and texture and eliminate the raw egg problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Great recipe! I make it every passover, it tastes even better if you add a hazelnut flavored chocolate to the melted chocolate! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
MMMM!!!!! This was SOOOOO good! This is now my official Passover dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States