Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I love this rice. I've made it at LEAST a dozen times and my husband has officially declared it illegal for me to make "regular" rice again. It takes a little longer than regular rice, but it's sooooo worth the extra effort! This dish is aromatic and TASTY. Do yourself and your family a favor and make this once. You'll NEVER go back. Thank you Kimber for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geekette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
My family thought the flavor was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
Great rice! I loved it, but my kids weren't too crazy about it because of the spices. I will make it again for more adults. Easy and dosnt take too long to cook. Thanks, Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is a tasty recipe. For those of you who find variations on this recipe bland, it is important to note that you **must** use Basmati rice to make this dish, as the Indians do. Basmati has a fairly rich, nutty flavour that contributes to the delicate spice flavours. If you are making this with regular long grain rice, yes it will be bland to some. Basmati is available in the foreign foods section of most North American grocery stores. Also one could probably stand to cut the butter down a bit if one were trying to cut calories out of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Takes a bit of time, but tastes INCREDIBLE. I use twice as much saffron as reccommended - awesome! Also goes great with Satay chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Basmati rice is a MUST! I used only 2 tbsp of olive oil instead. If you don't have Saffron threads 2 tsp of tumeric powder also adds a nice flavor! I also toss about 1 tbsp of sesame seeds at the beginning when I fried the spice. It goes well with just about every kind of Asian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe is very tasty. I used jasmine rice but next time I will basmati. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Not overly fussy to make and the extra work does make a difference. I had it with lamb kebabs. I would say that my rice was cooked and fluffy after about 20 minutes, I wouldn't leave it for 40 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
At first I did not like the flavor of this dish, however by the end of the dish I had completely changed my mind this is a dish I will make again for sure. I did not have basmatti rice so the next time I will be sure to and see what kind of differance it makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This looks just like a recipe that my Indian grandmother passed down to me. I also add 4-5 bay leaves at the beginning. It goes really well with South Indian dishes. And yes, basmati rice is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States