Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is different. First I want to say that I never cooked with saffron threads and cinnamon sticks, therefore using these ingredients was a first for me. I had to use powder cardamon seeds and powder cloves in place of whole cardamon and cloves. The rice was good, but not the best rice I had. Rice was a little bland, so I had to add a bit more salt to rice then what the recipe required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I altered this recipe just a little bit. Used one 14.5 oz can veg broth, added some garlic powder & one 14.5 oz can Hunts Fire Roasted tomatoes and used brown rice instead of the long-grain. It was really good! My husband & I enjoyed the rice with our salmon & carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandiNicol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Outstanding recipe. I used California Calrose Rice with great results. This is a very flavorful and aromatic dish that accompanied pan fried wild halibut and steamed Swiss chard perfectly. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This recipe is delicious but I usually cook basmati rice with a liquid to rice ratio of 2 to 1 and it cooks very quickly (15 Minutes) when it is rinced and has soaked for 30 minutes. It always comes out very fluffy that way. Has anyone found they needed to add more broth to this recipe? Also Costco sells a large bag of Indian basmati rice for a great price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janeekbatani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious! I would suggest using a fairly small onion. Added cashews when I added the rice to the saute mixture and golden raisins when I added the broth. Made my house smell so wonderful. Plan to make again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is a very different version of saffron rice. I wasn't sure I liked it at first..but the more I ate the more it grew on me. Only changes were I used a pinch of ground cardamom...did not have seeds...and used 2 cinnamon sticks instead of 3. I was a little worried it would end up cinnamon rice. I would not personally want more. Hubby really disliked it at first....but it grew on him too..though not as much as me. My big summary is that this definitely has a middle eastern feel to it for flavor. Next time I think I will make it with half brown or wild rice for more added nutty flavor. I did make it a second time and played with it a bit. Since the flacor was potent and those with an "uneducated" palate (aka kiddos) didn't like it I made with brown rice (for nutty flavor) but half of all the spices for a tones down version. That went over a lot better for general appeal. I also added almonds for a pilaf type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
If they served rice in heaven, this saffron rice may be it!! Very easy to make, and very rich in flavor. Though you only use 4 cloves, they add a lot of flavor, so does the cinnamon. Only one observation: It didn't take nearly 40 minutes for the rice to cook. It only took 8-10 minutes for the rice to absorb all the water, and when I tasted it, it was completely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timberlinx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Excellent. I made this to accompany a medieval feast and it was a hit. I added slivered almonds at the end. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
A delicious use of your time. Well worth the effort and exploding with flavor. I don't know if it is traditional and I don't care, I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I really enjoyed the flavor of this rice and the fragrance makes me drool just thinking about it. My family thought it was ok but their palates are limited...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States