Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I changed the recipe a bit and the results were absolutely DELICIOUS! I used less butter (6 tbs) and I added thinly sliced smoked portuguese sausage. I sauteed the onions and sausage for about 2-3 minutes in 3 tbs. butter, then added the other 3 tbs. butter and the rice, I let the rice brown a bit, then I added the water and used italian seasoning instead of parsley and a few sprinkles of adobo instead of saffron and food coloring. I also added a few manzanilla olives and then I let it come to a boil and then simmered for 20 minutes. Absolutely delicious!! Reminds me of a dish I use to enjoy in elementary school when visiting the home of a Columbian friend. My family loved it!! I'm sure you will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I did not care for this rice dish. It was like eating a stick of butter. There weren't any other complementing flavors. I added some spices after cooking, however it was still much too buttery. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Not a bad recipe... Needs to be played with a little bit... I used chicken broth in place of water and added a little more onion.. Also added cumin and a drop of hot sauce... And half the recomended amount of butter... Wonder if a little cury would be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is very exquisite. It really celebrates the saffron. It's ok to cut back on the butter and to use different flavors of broth or stock. Fresh parsley is better than dried. Really a great side dish. Food coloring is super not necessary. Also, a small splash of cream and a couple of tablespoons of parmesan cheese make this even better. Great comfort food side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
What an excellent side dish!! I absolutely loved this rice and I am actually about to re-make it. If the OVER buttery taste is what gets to you, try something else. I use Saffola. For health AND taste reasons. It cooks just as good as butter, without the too "buttery" taste. You might try scaling the butter back a little. I went with the full amount, but i am going to cut it back to about 6 tbsps instead. Should help you butter-phobes out there. I would not recommend Smart Balance. I use the heck out of the stuff, but it really sucks to cook with. Happy Cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Nice and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was fabulous. I didn't have enough for everyone because I didn't realize it would be that popular. I'm making it again tonight for the ones who lost out last night! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
It was quite good and easy to make, although I used half the butter and used italian seasonings as was recommended in another review. I am not a fan of artificial colors or flavors so the yellow food coloring was unneccesary. Otherwise, I will definitley be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Really Yummy!!! I only added about 4 tablespoons of butter which turned out fine. I didn't have any parsley so I omitted it. I did however add a pinch of curry and cumin. I used basmati rice which only took 15 mins. I will defiantly cook again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was good. I halved the butter and did not put in the food coloring. I also used a bullion cube and only put in 1 1/2 c of water. My rice only had a hint of saffron, but that's my fault. I guess my idea of a pinch is different from the recipe submitter's! I added in golden raisins like I've had in restaurants. I will definitely make it again with more saffron. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States