Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Just bought saffron for the first time yesterday,so had to try this recipe w/it. I used 1/2 a small onion, & olive oil instead of butter ( 2 Tbsp.) also, chicken stock, not water, cause that's what I usually do. I did crush the saffron a bit into the stock & heated it in the microwave before adding it to the pan of rice. Hubs & I really liked this~we both cleaned our plates. If you have the saffron, give it a try. Didn't use any coloring-it was nice & golden by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I do recommend to try Iranian style to cook rice. It is easier and much healthier. Since, it is better to leave the rice soaking in water for at least 2 hours in the room temperature. Do not forget to add salt. If you do so, the rice will taste a bit sweet. Afterward, add the soaked rice to boiling water. You can add Saffron Rice ingredients to the boiling rice. When it turns soft, drain. Heat a saucepan, add vegetable oil (1-2 Ts will be enough for Saffron Rice ingredient)add the rice and cover the saucepan with lid. In about 30 minutes you will have a wonderful saffron rice. The tip #1: add saffron earlier than other ingredients. Then you can eliminate yellow food color. Tip #2: Add one Ts of vegetable oil before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Wa-a-a-a-a-ay too much butter!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
As written, I found it to be a little bland. Also,there was no need at all for adding any food coloring. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Delicious! Left out food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeneml
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this using a combo of chicken and vegatable broth and double saffron, really rich and delicious. Fresh herbs made a huge differance and I was able to use half the butter in the original. No food color was necessary. I would not use margarine as you miss out on a lot of flavor and the caloric differance is not really significant per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I give this 5 stars because it worked like it was supposed to and it tasted very good. What more can you ask for when you try a recipe for the first time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Rather plain tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Just made this recipe, it is yummy! I used coconut oil and only 1 tablespoon of butter, as I am watching my weight. No other adjustments needed. Husband loved it and I did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great basic recipe and went well curry! I used Trader Joe's Spanish Saffron. I soaked the saffron threads in the 2 cups of hot water before adding to the rice. The rice came out naturally yellow and I didn't need to use yellow food coloring at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tipsuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Arleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States