Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Thanks for sharing this recipe! It was easy and tasty. I did however use 4 tbs of butter and it came out perfect, still buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
a really good start! I cut the butter to 4 tsp. added 1 tsp. onion powder 1 tsp. garlic powder 1 tsp. paprika 1 tsp. salt and some black pepper. cooked in chicken broth and no food coloring. it tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Too much butter here. I use only 1-2 tablespoons of butter, and skip the food colouring. If you lightly grind up the saffron in your fingers as you add it to the pot it will loosen up and allow its own natural yellow colour into the rice. Otherwise, this is just how my mother made saffron rice, a favorite of mine as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurray
Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Adding the suggested amount of saffron, but couldn't taste it in the rice. The saffron was bought at Williams Sonoma - so I don't think it was cheap saffron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Delicious! I used baby saffron and let it soak for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was ok. I used half the amount of butter and it was still a little buttery for me. Also, I think this really needs some salt. Not bad but will probably try something else next time. It just didn't taste "authentic" to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe. Who'd have thought it would be so easy? I used oil and a touch of salt instead of butter. Next time I'm going to use half as much oil since mine came out a little too oily. DELICIOUS, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Wayyyyy to much butter - needed seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Loved this dish and will make it again. Very easy and a nice change from plain steamed rice. Following some other suggestions I used 1/2 the butter, fresh parsley, and omitted the food coloring, and steeped the saffron threads in boiling water first. The rice had a wonderful yellow color and a great taste at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
wonderful.. I did use chicken stock like some others suggested and cut the butter to 4 tblspns. That was plenty.. the texture of the rice was great--I'm not generally a fan of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States