Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is very exquisite. It really celebrates the saffron. It's ok to cut back on the butter and to use different flavors of broth or stock. Fresh parsley is better than dried. Really a great side dish. Food coloring is super not necessary. Also, a small splash of cream and a couple of tablespoons of parmesan cheese make this even better. Great comfort food side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is a great way to showcase the saffron. I don't like the flavor of butter, so I sauteed my onions in extra virgin olive oil. I didn't bother with the food coloring - it's very appealing with the fresh, green parsley in it. I also substituted chicken broth in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I changed the recipe a bit and the results were absolutely DELICIOUS! I used less butter (6 tbs) and I added thinly sliced smoked portuguese sausage. I sauteed the onions and sausage for about 2-3 minutes in 3 tbs. butter, then added the other 3 tbs. butter and the rice, I let the rice brown a bit, then I added the water and used italian seasoning instead of parsley and a few sprinkles of adobo instead of saffron and food coloring. I also added a few manzanilla olives and then I let it come to a boil and then simmered for 20 minutes. Absolutely delicious!! Reminds me of a dish I use to enjoy in elementary school when visiting the home of a Columbian friend. My family loved it!! I'm sure you will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was fabulous. I didn't have enough for everyone because I didn't realize it would be that popular. I'm making it again tonight for the ones who lost out last night! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I've just begun cooking with saffron and this is the best recipe I've tried so far. I agree with the reviewer who said to steep the saffron. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Really Yummy!!! I only added about 4 tablespoons of butter which turned out fine. I didn't have any parsley so I omitted it. I did however add a pinch of curry and cumin. I used basmati rice which only took 15 mins. I will defiantly cook again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Mmmm, rich and creamy and delicious! Pretty and colorful too! I used half the amount of butter called for and it was plenty. Rather than dried parsley I used fresh, which added great fresh flavor and color. I cooked the rice in chicken broth, again adding more flavor, and used an extra pinch of saffron (love the stuff). The food coloring wasn't necessary. This paired perfectly with Sea Bass Cuban Style, the recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great but I used butter instead of margarine and chicken broth instead of water. I skipped the food color as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
What an excellent side dish!! I absolutely loved this rice and I am actually about to re-make it. If the OVER buttery taste is what gets to you, try something else. I use Saffola. For health AND taste reasons. It cooks just as good as butter, without the too "buttery" taste. You might try scaling the butter back a little. I went with the full amount, but i am going to cut it back to about 6 tbsps instead. Should help you butter-phobes out there. I would not recommend Smart Balance. I use the heck out of the stuff, but it really sucks to cook with. Happy Cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
fantastic! I opted out of the food coloring and my rice came out yellow anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States