Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
wonderful.. I did use chicken stock like some others suggested and cut the butter to 4 tblspns. That was plenty.. the texture of the rice was great--I'm not generally a fan of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Just bought saffron for the first time yesterday,so had to try this recipe w/it. I used 1/2 a small onion, & olive oil instead of butter ( 2 Tbsp.) also, chicken stock, not water, cause that's what I usually do. I did crush the saffron a bit into the stock & heated it in the microwave before adding it to the pan of rice. Hubs & I really liked this~we both cleaned our plates. If you have the saffron, give it a try. Didn't use any coloring-it was nice & golden by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I do recommend to try Iranian style to cook rice. It is easier and much healthier. Since, it is better to leave the rice soaking in water for at least 2 hours in the room temperature. Do not forget to add salt. If you do so, the rice will taste a bit sweet. Afterward, add the soaked rice to boiling water. You can add Saffron Rice ingredients to the boiling rice. When it turns soft, drain. Heat a saucepan, add vegetable oil (1-2 Ts will be enough for Saffron Rice ingredient)add the rice and cover the saucepan with lid. In about 30 minutes you will have a wonderful saffron rice. The tip #1: add saffron earlier than other ingredients. Then you can eliminate yellow food color. Tip #2: Add one Ts of vegetable oil before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Wa-a-a-a-a-ay too much butter!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
As written, I found it to be a little bland. Also,there was no need at all for adding any food coloring. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Delicious! Left out food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeneml
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this using a combo of chicken and vegatable broth and double saffron, really rich and delicious. Fresh herbs made a huge differance and I was able to use half the butter in the original. No food color was necessary. I would not use margarine as you miss out on a lot of flavor and the caloric differance is not really significant per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I give this 5 stars because it worked like it was supposed to and it tasted very good. What more can you ask for when you try a recipe for the first time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Rather plain tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Just made this recipe, it is yummy! I used coconut oil and only 1 tablespoon of butter, as I am watching my weight. No other adjustments needed. Husband loved it and I did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States