Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
What I did: Added (only) 2 Tbsp butter, 1/4 onion (cut large), rice, chicken broth (instead of water), parsley, and saffron to a rice cooker. Set the cooker to "white rice" and it came out great! Other things I did: Ground up the saffron, added a shake or two of curry power, cumin and salt. I think this is a good starting point recipe. Definitely doesn't need all that butter! And no need for the food coloring, mine was yellow. It also reminds me of rice-a-roni (which I love but don't eat considering how unhealthy it is) so I may make this next time with some peas and carrots, and maybe some different spices, to make a kid/ crowd pleasing side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Before I read the other reviews, I did the same thing as most - cut butter in half, used fresh parsley, Arborio rice and chicken stock and no food coloring. It still came out a nice yellow color. Also, I wish I would of sliced up the saffron as suggested by others b/c my 3 year old didn't like the "red stuff" and wouldn't touch it, while my super picky eater, the 7 year old, chowed down and thanked me for making the special rice. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It didn't have much flavor. I think next time I will cook it in broth with the saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Very good. Will make again. Used chicken stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this for dinner as a side dish, except instead of using "3 drops yellow food coloring", I used a smidgen pinch of turmeric for added color. Would've used more saffron except at $19 for .01 oz (on sale, I might add) that's pretty spendy for a spice! (Good thing I'm growing my own this year!!) I also used homemade chicken stock instead of water. Very delicious! Thank you for sharing. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILREDCV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Too much butter, not enough saffron. An entire stick of butter is too much. Saffron's expensive, so if I'm going to cook with it, I'll use it, not food coloring. Another reviewer incresed the onion and used chicken broth, both worthy additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I have my own version of Risotto al Zafferano. I saute onion with pancetta (cut up small) and peas. Then I add the rice and make it toast a little. Add vegetable broth just enough to cover, add zafferon, salt, and pepper. Put in a preheated oven at 400F.or 200C. Cook for about 20 mins.or time indicated for the type of rice used. When cooked stir in parmiggiano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Whenever I try a recipe for the first time, I put my own rating (from 1 to 10)on my printed page of the recipe. I gave this one 10/10. It would go with almost anything with it's rich but mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I only used 3 tablespoons butter. It still came out really buttery, even though I used 1.5 C of rice. I added a bit of chicken broth concentrate for flavor. The consistency is like risotto - much wetter and creamier than I expected. Tasty - although it's missing something??? A bay leaf? My son enjoyed it though. I would reduce butter to 2 tablespoons next time and add the bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Used chicken broth, tablespoon ea of butter and oil and a little more than a pinch of saffron. A nice change. Oh, I used coscous and that was so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States