Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
A good recipe I make it in the oven as I never seem to get it right when I cook rice on top of the stove. I also add 2 or 3 caramom pods to add some different flavour to the rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Loved it! I used an entire onion..but thats our taste. I might do 1/2 and 1/2 butter and olive oil as others suggested next time. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
It was pretty good. I would use half of the butter and substitute some olive oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trinabell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was really good! I doubled the recipe but not the butter. Also used onion powder for my kids sake; didn't add the food color! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This turned out great and went well with paneer stuffed peppers (from BBC Food site). As suggested, I used half the amount of butter. I also used basmati rice. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is a great way to showcase the saffron. I don't like the flavor of butter, so I sauteed my onions in extra virgin olive oil. I didn't bother with the food coloring - it's very appealing with the fresh, green parsley in it. I also substituted chicken broth in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I used orzo instead of rice, 1/2 the butter and it was ok. I think I will try making it but I will add vegetables added and some spicy seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
fantastic! I opted out of the food coloring and my rice came out yellow anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used a mixture of butter and olive oil(1Tbsp each) and used chicken stock instead of water. Heat chicken stock and allow saffron to "bloom" in the stock for a few minutes. I used basmati rice and also added frozen peas. No need to use food coloring. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States