Sadie's Longboy Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Since putting this recipe on here, I have become a vegetarian. And since I loved this recipe, I came up with a meatless way to eat it. Simply take a package of the Morningstar crumbled soymeat (defrosted), and add a bit more ketchup and evap milk to make it a sticky precooked consistency . I then zapped it with some Montreal steak seasoning in addition to the rest of the ingredients and slathered in cheese. Still yummy. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GAMMA KATSY
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The flavor was good, but like others said, I cooked the meat first. Very easy and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Followed the ingredient list except for the cornflake crumbs...didn't have any, so used Ritz cracker crumbs as I do for my meatloaf, and I added shredded cheese to the mix. Changed up the cooking method a bit for an experiment. Used about 6 small Italian hoagie buns, split. Spread the meat mixture about a 1/2 inch thick on one side and then put the top back on. I then wrapped each individually in foil and baked 30 minutes in the 375* oven. To serve, I cut each in half. Worked out faily well this way and kept the bun from getting too crunchy. My son liked them very much, but my husband and I thought they we just ok...just seemed to be lacking *something* for me, and my husband didn't like the soggy bread bits. My try again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
We loved these cheeseburgers! The crisp bread was out of the ordinary, but really good. I'm a picky eater, so I loved the meat and cheese filling, but I'm sure it would be tasty with extras like peppers, mushrooms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Krueger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I added an egg and shredded cheddar to this. YUMMY!! Next time I will stuff a can of mushrooms in there too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Made this the other night, all I did was swap the american cheese with chedder chedder and it was great. The bread didnt get to hard or soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
A pretty decent recipe... I used the suggestion of another reviewer and added an egg into the meat mix, and was pretty satisfied. That said, next time I'm going to try adding in some minced garlic and perhaps some more Worcestershire sauce. Worth trying, but expect to add your own tweaks to perfect it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
The filling was good, but the bread crust got so crisp it was nearly impossible to bite through. If I make this again, I will take another reviewer's tip and brown the meat first and bake only for a short time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
These weren't bad. My fiance thought they were really good, I thought they were okay. I'll probably make them again for a quick easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This is one of my favorite childhood meals. We always brown the meat mixture first before filling the bread with it and just bake for a short time. We also use shredded cheddar for the top and the kids always squirted extra ketchup on the top before eating, too! Plus, my mother would always give us the bread "insides" for a snack that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States