Sadie's Longboy Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is a childhood favorite that I still love today, as do my kids. I use 1 Tbsp Worc sauce, and 1/2 cup crumbs. Also, my recipe called for the refrigerated Brown n Serve bread/rolls. These don't burn on the bottom or get too crispy, but they're increasingly harder to find. I made today with the Nonrefrigerated kind and burned the bottoms. I will try on a rack next time, as suggested by another reviewer. These make an easy to eat, finger food for the most part. We usually make as a meal, but they work very well as an appetizer as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. I got a ketchup flavored medicore meat loaf open faced sandwich. Neither my wife or I finished our portion and we threw the rest away. Very disappointing. The best part was the melted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GAMMA KATSY
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
The flavor was good, but like others said, I cooked the meat first. Very easy and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have been eating this recipe for 50 years and it is one of my favorites. I make it exactly the same minus the onion. It was originally called "Longboy Cheeseburgers". She saw it in a magazine when she was getting her hair done. It's one of our family traditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Followed the ingredient list except for the cornflake crumbs...didn't have any, so used Ritz cracker crumbs as I do for my meatloaf, and I added shredded cheese to the mix. Changed up the cooking method a bit for an experiment. Used about 6 small Italian hoagie buns, split. Spread the meat mixture about a 1/2 inch thick on one side and then put the top back on. I then wrapped each individually in foil and baked 30 minutes in the 375* oven. To serve, I cut each in half. Worked out faily well this way and kept the bun from getting too crunchy. My son liked them very much, but my husband and I thought they we just ok...just seemed to be lacking *something* for me, and my husband didn't like the soggy bread bits. My try again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
We loved these cheeseburgers! The crisp bread was out of the ordinary, but really good. I'm a picky eater, so I loved the meat and cheese filling, but I'm sure it would be tasty with extras like peppers, mushrooms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Krueger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Made this the other night, all I did was swap the american cheese with chedder chedder and it was great. The bread didnt get to hard or soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
not for little kids! I love the idea of this recipe; it seems easy enough to whip up and an economical way to make 1 pound of hamburger feed 6 people at least, but it ends up being too dry and crusty. by the time the meat is done, the bread is TOO done. because i love the idea, i fidgeted with the recipe and came up with one semi-acceptable modification before giving up . I added 1 CAN CREAM OF MUSHROOM to the meat mix, and that made the meat less dry. Possibly if I had teenagers this could work, but it was just too dry and too big for my 4 and 6 year olds mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenHartnsoul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
A pretty decent recipe... I used the suggestion of another reviewer and added an egg into the meat mix, and was pretty satisfied. That said, next time I'm going to try adding in some minced garlic and perhaps some more Worcestershire sauce. Worth trying, but expect to add your own tweaks to perfect it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Great flavor! Substituted sun chips for corn flakes because I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States