Sad Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is pretty good; I added about a cup of raisins, 1/4 tspn salt, and baked for the full 40 min. It is a bit gooey in the middle but does firm up with cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I brought this cake to work and it was the laughing stock of the day. No one believed that "sad cake" existed. Since I work in a kitchen and cooking is my career, I got a hold of this recipe and one of my team mates made this and BEHOLD!! Hers came out looking just like mine. So we ended up with two cakes that we all could enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I have to make this cake often. My kids request it. We love it. Its quick easy and made with ingredients I already have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Crump

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Oh Em Gee!!! A coworker just brought this to our Christmas party. It was so delightful. I dont even like coconut and I loved this cake. I dont care if its sad cause it sure made me happy. I printed the recipe and will be making it myself soon! So moist and not overly rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is the best cake ever! Very rich...almost pecan pie-like. It's very sad looking..sunk in the middle..but YUMMY! When I opened the over I was convinced I had overcooked it because i was sunk in the middle - but NOPE, totally normal!! And if you like edges, this is the cake for you! I used peanuts instead of pecans and it was still great, although the pecans would have been great, too! Next time. I will make this again (and again!) for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My husband who doesnt like most cakes but loves this cake! It is so easy and even with cutting the servings it still taste great. I was so happy to find this receipe. I found it in my great aunts receipebook and could not read the amount of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Oh my goodness so good. The recipe confused me a little cause it called for oil but didn't say to add it but I did anyway. My cake didn't really fall but it did sink a little bit. I didn't have any nuts so I didn't add the pecans but i did add chocolate chips. I probably wouldn't like it as much without the chocolate but the crunch from pecans, walnuts, or maybe even peanuts would be nice. This is kind of a mix between a cookie bar and a cake. If you like chocolate you must try with a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I used semi-sweet chips but butterscotch or m&ms would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
this cake was freakin' amazing. i added some butterscotch chips as recommended by some people, and it turned out really well. i ended up cutting it into squares and it was like eating a cookie. really chewy, but in a good way. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnamonzombie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I just made this cake and it is so easy and delicious. I only made half a recipe to try it and because it is just me and my husband, but I could eat the whole thing by myself! You don't have to add anything to it, but you could if you wanted to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Awesome! But I wouldn't call it cake. It's more like a blondie but stickier. Very rich, if you like that kind of thing (I do!). Super fast and eas y to put together, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States