Sachertorte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
Very good. I had made a similar recipe before but it wasn't as good. (I didn't include the coffee.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
My husband has been begging me to make this torte since he went to Vienna and had the real thing. It came out nicely, though not exactly the same. A nice cake for company nontheless. The coffee is a nice addition into the frosting - not too strong, as I was afraid it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
The frosting is what makes this cake. You can substitute a bit of coffee liqueuer, 1 to 2 tablespoons (whatever it takes to making spreading consistency) for the coffee. Cake is nice with a dollop of whipped cream on it. Bites without frosting or whipped cream are just average. I usually go for deeper chocolate flavor. Don't freak out at the crackled crust on top when you pull it out of oven... icing covers it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I liked this recipe, the torte was moist and tasty. However I found the icing too sweet. I had a hard time cutting the cake in half, but that might be my technique - someone told me that a thread works best to cut it in half but that did not work for me. The cake cooked in 30 minutes for me, but my oven is weird (even with an oven thermometer) so I won't blame the recipe. It also shrank from the sides of the pan, and I was worried that it might be too dry - it wasn't. I used saskatoon/raspberry jam instead of apricot, because I didn't think I would like apricot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
this sachertorte was excellent. In Vienna I went to the Sacher hotel to try Sachertorte. It was dry and uninteresting. My sister later went to Vienna and tried 3 tortes, also dry. This tasted like I expected one to taste. It was very moist even a week later a small piece refrigerated was still moist. The frosting is delicious thanyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
My grandparents live in Vienna, and i've spent summers there my entire life. This is not the sachertorte i have enjoyed at the Hotel Sacher on countless occasions. This recipe is too moist, not like the famed- whichever you take that to be. This cake tasted somewhat like a box mix- the flavors were not as deep to me, probably a result of the quality of chocolate in the States versus Wien. If you use the whipped cream, as is tradition, do not sweeten it, it overpowers the chocolate. The cake is not meant to taste like a Hershey bar as many Americans like. The difference is, desserts are on a completely different level in Austria. Pastry and sweets are time-honored, proud traditions- usually unchanged for centuries. On the up side, i imagine this would be a nice deviation from a simple cake, possibly for a birthday. I suppose i will simply have my Omi ship them to me in the States.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
i did not try this recipe yet but i will. isnt sachertorte awesome tho? i just made some yesterday for german club:):) urs is probly better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Attempting to bake this cake was quite a humbling experience. After failing with the Sachertorte Icing and having the cake portion end up crumbly I decided to just find one online. Word to the wise... save yourself the difficultly that I experienced and check out Caroline's Cakes. I actually saw her on the Food Network while looking up videos on exactly how to bake this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I don't think this can technically be called a Sachertorte. Although it's original recipe is kept under as much lock and key as the Coca Cola formula, there are certain key ingredients. An apricot glaze and unsweetened cream are the two ingredients that differentiate this from just a typical chocolate cake. I enjoyed the fact that this recipe was easy to make but at the end, it was not impressive nor was it what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This torte was excellent. I cooked the icing for about 10 minutes over the double boiler and the texture was perfect. I pureed low-sugar apricot preserves in the blender, which also worked well. The only difference I could tell from the real Austrian torte was the color of the cake. This was much lighter in color than the one we had in Salzburg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Larson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States