Sacher Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have just made it! Have never used a spring form pan before, so I opted for the small ceramic dishes that I could control better; anyway, I have cooked, "out of the box mixes", with chocolate and I suggest to put a large mixing bowl over a pot of water (no overheating/burning of choc) to melt it. It is well...worth the effort if people enjoy a truly "homemade desert". If you don't have a "La Madeleine" restaurant then fly to Vienna by all means. Trying to make the syrup soak in was difficult because the cake is not soft enough. A second thing was the icing to which I had to add quite a bit more cream or it does NOT spread (too chunky). I kept it in the double boiler, so it definitely needed more cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe has a lot of potential. Overall my results were pretty good, but the cake came out a little on the dry side. Another commenter mentions that she believes this can happen when the chocolate doesn't have enough fat in it, but I added quite a bit of butter. Next time I will try adding some yogurt instead, and some extra sugar to compensate (yogurt in cakes eats up sweetness). I also wish I had let the apricot/rum mixture cool a little more after thickening. I tried to apply it while it was still quite warm and runny. Lastly, I wish I had known how quickly the chocolate icing would set up; within seconds of taking it off of the heat it was like mud. In hindsight I should have been a bit quicker in pouring it on the cake -- do it all in one go, get it as even as you can manage quickly, and don't try to go back and fix the thin areas by pouring more on, because the result will be ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya M.
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This turned out great. I sliced it into three layers instead of two. I used Czech Orion bitter and cooking chocolate, half dark rum and half Grand Marnier. The cake is not too sweet and is balanced with the ganache. Now I need to try the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Super tasty and authentic! It took a LOT of work and time, but it was well worth the effort. I served it with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I loved everything about this Sacher Torte. (However,I would much rather fly to Vienna for the real thing!) I am going to make it for my annual "Celebrate Mozart's Birthday" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINE
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Weird, dry. The chocolate mix did not incorperate into the egg whites. Some of my guests claimed to like it. It has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I agree! This is a lot like the real thing. I ued semi-sweet chocolate bits which worked well. When making this, please understand it is NOT a sweet cake. With the apricot filling and chocolate that is what makes it Sacher Torte. Would also suggest serving it with whip cream (mit schlag). I too have fond memories of the Hotel Sacher. This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This turned out to be a LOT like the Sacher Torte I had at the Sacher Hotel in Vienna. The only thing I would say is that you absolutely MUST use a high-fat chocolate for this, like a coverture. If the chocolate isn't high in butterfat, the whole thing will turn out too dry. If you want to try with semi-sweet chocolate chips, increase the fat content when you're melting the chocolate. This made me miss Vienna!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States