Sacher Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lingwallicious
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
For Valentines Day, I purchased a set of aluminum foil pans (2) and divided the batter between the two (thus eliminating the step of cutting the single cake into top and bottom halves). I reduced the baking time accordingly (about 30-minutes). I also lined the pans (bottoms and sides) with non-stick aluminum foil. The cakes came out great, no sticking to the foil at all! I used Hershey Special Dark chocolate chips (my favorite) and the results ...DELICIOUS!!! Reminiscent of the Sachertorte my Mom & I so enjoyed at Hansel & Gretel's in Vail once upon a time.....??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Goehner, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I followed recipe exactly, read reviews and used 86% cacao chocolate, extra fat. It was very very dry. The icing however was wonderful. I kept it warm so it wouldn't harden while spreading. I've had Vienna torte by other people and it didn't raise my blood sugar so was interested in making it. But wouldn't make this one again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have just made it! Have never used a spring form pan before, so I opted for the small ceramic dishes that I could control better; anyway, I have cooked, "out of the box mixes", with chocolate and I suggest to put a large mixing bowl over a pot of water (no overheating/burning of choc) to melt it. It is well...worth the effort if people enjoy a truly "homemade desert". If you don't have a "La Madeleine" restaurant then fly to Vienna by all means. Trying to make the syrup soak in was difficult because the cake is not soft enough. A second thing was the icing to which I had to add quite a bit more cream or it does NOT spread (too chunky). I kept it in the double boiler, so it definitely needed more cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe has a lot of potential. Overall my results were pretty good, but the cake came out a little on the dry side. Another commenter mentions that she believes this can happen when the chocolate doesn't have enough fat in it, but I added quite a bit of butter. Next time I will try adding some yogurt instead, and some extra sugar to compensate (yogurt in cakes eats up sweetness). I also wish I had let the apricot/rum mixture cool a little more after thickening. I tried to apply it while it was still quite warm and runny. Lastly, I wish I had known how quickly the chocolate icing would set up; within seconds of taking it off of the heat it was like mud. In hindsight I should have been a bit quicker in pouring it on the cake -- do it all in one go, get it as even as you can manage quickly, and don't try to go back and fix the thin areas by pouring more on, because the result will be ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya M. Shafer
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This turned out great. I sliced it into three layers instead of two. I used Czech Orion bitter and cooking chocolate, half dark rum and half Grand Marnier. The cake is not too sweet and is balanced with the ganache. Now I need to try the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya M. Shafer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Super tasty and authentic! It took a LOT of work and time, but it was well worth the effort. I served it with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I loved everything about this Sacher Torte. (However,I would much rather fly to Vienna for the real thing!) I am going to make it for my annual "Celebrate Mozart's Birthday" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINE
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Weird, dry. The chocolate mix did not incorperate into the egg whites. Some of my guests claimed to like it. It has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I agree! This is a lot like the real thing. I ued semi-sweet chocolate bits which worked well. When making this, please understand it is NOT a sweet cake. With the apricot filling and chocolate that is what makes it Sacher Torte. Would also suggest serving it with whip cream (mit schlag). I too have fond memories of the Hotel Sacher. This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States