SWEET, Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
It was like eating a loaded baked sweet potato, loved it. I used a dash of salt in the recipe, with the required amounts and it only covered 1 of the 2 thinly cut sweet potatoes. I had to make another glaze (bath) for the next potato. Also if you increase the time to 45 minutes you will have your crunchy fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Waaaay disappointed! The sweet mixture sounded good but the addition of so much salt totally ruined them! They were mushy and way way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I used 2 large sweet potatoes just like the recipe called for but this was so over seasoned and mushy we couldn't even eat it. I tried to save it by throwing them in a colander and trying to rinse off the seasonings and then reheated in the oven but it had already soaked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Delicious....I was worried that they were turning black...but oh! That was the most delicious part. They disappeared! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These have a good flavor. I only used a good sized sweet potato and that was just right for the spice mix. I think it depends on the different sizes of potatoes. I didn't put salt in the mix...just sprinkled with kosher salt before baking according to what I thought was the right amount. My oven only took 25 min. depends on your oven. I'm wondering if deep frying and then baking a few minutes in the spice mix would make a more sturdy fry. Worth a shot because they are tasty but very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
If you try this recipe, DO NOT add any salt! I reduced the amount given in the recipe, but the salt still was overpowering. The fries were soggy; the coating impossible to apply evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
My family loved these and I will definitely make them again. I did not add the salt and I cut them to the 1/4 inch as specified. I left them in the oven a little longer and they were perfect, crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
These were not a good consistency, just seemed mushy. Somehow they need to be crispier. Way too much salt, too, even after reducing from 1 tablespoon to about 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Ok. Quite disappointed. :( the seasonings were right for the sweet potatoes, however, too much ended up on my very thinly cut potatoes, by the time they were 'done', they were too mushy to be like 'fries', so maybe I over cooked them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States