S'More Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
The crust didn't turn out at all--it was WAYYY too much crust, and it was crumbly. The rest of it technically turned out okay, but I felt that overall it was a fairly plain dessert. I'd rather have a regular s'more anyday. If I'm going to take the trouble to make any kind of pie, this one isn't worth it. Just not enough flavor, and not good enough to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Just be careful not to burn the chocolate. Also, just layering chocolate chips works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I liked it a lot all except there was a bit too much graham crackers, I think next time ill use only 3 cups of graham crackers. Other than that, really good! I would definitely put it in Tupperware though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Thank You Whistle2000 for sharing this. I took them to a meeting and they were gone almost instantly. I had 3 S'more kits in Que from the summer.I needed to use them before the graham crackers went stale. The kit included full size marshmallows, packs of graham crackers and of course HERSHEY bars. I appreciated that the crust used the actual measurement required instead of "a box of crumbs". I took some reviewers suggestions. 1. Just to use the candy bars whole, w/o worrying about chopping them up. (less time and work), and to broil the marshmallows a quick minute. I made an error which I did remedy. I had the large marshmallows, and was planning on chopping them in the food processor. Please do not laugh at me. Most of you probably know that did NOT work.*G* I used the marshmallows as they were. The recipe states miniatures for good reason. That was not very smart because they did not blend in as they should have. To remedy this, when I took them out of the oven, I took a fork and squished them down. Then I put them back in the oven and broiled them to a toasty golden color. So you can use large marshmallows, but I would suggest taking the time to cut them in small pieces. Of course that comes back to the original recipe. This is why it was written as it is. AND I see no point in substituting margarine for the butter! (this is NOT what the recipe states). The real butter makes it so yummy. I will make this recipe again, and get the tiny marshmallows...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Audi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
My friend made this and it was delicious! She used dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
OMG, I made this last night and So Easy! I did add some chocolate to the top to decorate the top with swirls of chocolate. Awesome... Just Rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was a fantastic, easy dessert that tastes delicious. I love marshmallows, especially when roasted, and these smores bars evoke campfire memories. I pressed the graham cracker mixture into my pyrex pan, cooked it for a few minutes, sprinkled some mini dark chocolate chips on top, put it in the oven for two minutes, and then covered the mixture with marshmallows and crumbles of the graham cracker mixture. I couldn't wait, so I spooned some into a tea cup right out of the oven, but they taste great a few days later, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Not sure why, but this didn't turn out for me. The graham crumbs were soggy instead of crisp. Otherwise, it tasted fine, but it had to be eaten with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I love this recipe!! Do not use Pam or such, butter the pan. I made the crust and used milk chocolate pieces -- put it in oven until just almost melted [about 10 min]. took pan out and while hot, sprinkled main marshmallows and rest of crust on top. total time was about 15 minutes. my friend and I ate half the pan after it was cooled. But it is rich and soooooooooooooo good! will definitely make again [and again] my friend already asked when will she get more:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
So good. I used mini Hershey Bars and baked it all at once - no premelting. I was in love with it and all my friends kids gobbled it up at a picnic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States