Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
I add dark molasses instead of the white sugar. It brings out the flavor more. Also, this bread is great with chili, soups, breakfast, and for making ham sandwiches. Try it! Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
Since finding this recipe, I rarely bake any other rye bread. I like using a very dark stout beer. With lighter beers, I add a bit of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Came out really good, even though I'm stuck with only a toaster over. Note that the bread truly takes on the flavor of the beer. I used Magic Hat's Fat Angel, which was nioce, but I'd like ot try something lighter and cleaner next time. Also, feel free to up the carraway seed suggestion. If you like them, use a lot more than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I like rye bread very much, and have tried several recipes. This one is the best, I like the flavor and the texture of the bread, it's light and good. Excellent for reuben sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiceSteele
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I loved this bread. Very dense and chewy, and it makes an excellent Reuben sandwich. I used Heineken, but next time I think I'll try a stronger beer like Warsteiner. I also added an extra tablespoon of caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This recipe worried me a bit because I had all-purpose flour and wanted a higher proportion of rye flour. But even with 3 cups of rye and 2 of all-purpose, it rose beautifully. I made rolls and sprinkled the caraway seeds thickly on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
In a word awesome, Absolutely worth the time! I recommend that if you have a small clay cooker to use it for this bread. But it only made one large loaf in the romertopf (clay cooker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Best tasting rye recipe I have made to date. Forgot the caraway seeds, but even without them was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
It's probably not fair to even rate this recipe because I changed it so much. I didn't let the beer/flour mixture sit overnight, just for about 1 1/2 hours. I used whole wheat instead of rye and I used honey instead of sugar. I also subbed 1 c. flax flour for 1 of the cups of bread flour. anyway, it still came out good. the only thing I'd change next time is maybe doubling the honey or adding a little sugar. It's got a great texture but w/ all of my changes, it needs a little more sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This recipe is pretty good. However, I don't think it rose well. It took at least twice as long to rise and even then it didn't rise all that much. Maybe it was my fault. ONE NOTE: previous reviews state that you might want to use a dark/strong beer. On this advice, I used a Samuel Adams Boston Lager. TOO BITTER. Next time I will use an ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States