Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made this bread to go with Guiness (R) Corned Beef for St. Paddy's Day. What a great combination. Today it will be toast with corned beef hash. Wonderful texture and aroma. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
An excellent hearty bread. I used a dark beer and it blended beautifully with the rye. The crust is very thick and the inside nice and tender. The end of the loaf got shoved to the back of my refrigerator for a week and I just discovered it. It held up very well (didn't dry out like other breads) and is GREAT toasted. I'll be making this again this weekend when my in-laws are here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is such an easy recipe and the outcome is great. I make this all the time now, even when we have potlucks at work. Everyone loves it and if there is any leftovers, they fight over who takes it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I made this today (well started the mash last night.) It's SO GOOD and really easy. I used molasses instead of sugar, doubled the caraway seeds and used Bass Pale Ale for the beer. It was sweet and crusty and wonderful. Thank you for the great recipe. I will be making this again and again. I can't wait to try it with chicken salad or tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I was actually disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe and used a beer that we drink, but the taste was just off. I will say that it had a wonderful texture - soft on the inside and crisp on the outside, but not too hard. It was a very easy recipe, but I probably won't make it again. Thanks anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This recipe is pretty good. However, I don't think it rose well. It took at least twice as long to rise and even then it didn't rise all that much. Maybe it was my fault. ONE NOTE: previous reviews state that you might want to use a dark/strong beer. On this advice, I used a Samuel Adams Boston Lager. TOO BITTER. Next time I will use an ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
It's probably not fair to even rate this recipe because I changed it so much. I didn't let the beer/flour mixture sit overnight, just for about 1 1/2 hours. I used whole wheat instead of rye and I used honey instead of sugar. I also subbed 1 c. flax flour for 1 of the cups of bread flour. anyway, it still came out good. the only thing I'd change next time is maybe doubling the honey or adding a little sugar. It's got a great texture but w/ all of my changes, it needs a little more sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Best tasting rye recipe I have made to date. Forgot the caraway seeds, but even without them was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
In a word awesome, Absolutely worth the time! I recommend that if you have a small clay cooker to use it for this bread. But it only made one large loaf in the romertopf (clay cooker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This recipe worried me a bit because I had all-purpose flour and wanted a higher proportion of rye flour. But even with 3 cups of rye and 2 of all-purpose, it rose beautifully. I made rolls and sprinkled the caraway seeds thickly on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States