Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I haven't tried making this, yet, but if you put the dough into an oven that's still 170 degrees, you killed the yeast. The problem there isn't the recipe. It actually would have been better to leave the dough in your chilly kitchen. It would rise more slowly, but a slower rise yields a better tasting and better-textured yeast product. I'm rating the recipe 4 stars because based on the proportions, it should be fine, and I can't post a response without rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My bad luck with rye breads strikes again. The dough rose not at all over night. Don't know what happened. Was in oven, with pilot light, which I had pre-heated to 170 (the lowest setting) before turning it off for the night (thought this would be better than my somewhat chilly kitchen). Sorry to skew the ratings, but I was VERY disappointed when i saw the mass of wasted ingredients in my bread bowl this morning....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I'm note sure what I did wrong, but my bread never rose. It could have been a yeast problem or a temperature problem. I used Guiness Extra Stout, and the flavor was strong, but good. The bread was obviously too dense, but still edible. I may try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MotoJack
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
A really great formula.I have made this beer rye several times and all here enjoy the bread.A stiff dough that seems it needs more liquid at first but is really just right after kneading a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotoJack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apalachicola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was a great bread. I used a Newcastle Brown Ale and it made for great flavour. I made a bread bowl for spinach dip with it and it was a big hit. FYI to a previous reviewer - Sam Adams Lager is NOT a dark beer, no lager is. Go with a stout, porter, or a brown ale for a bit sweeter taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is wonderful bread. I used Guiness Stout and was a bit worried because it smelled so strong while sitting in the first step, but the taste is excellent. I followed the instructions except to add more caraway seed. The batter was too stiff to stir after the second cup of bread flour so I kneaded in the rest. It took exactly the amount stated and yielded two 8 x 4 loaves. I think next time I'll try a lighter beer and add dill weed. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
i made this the other day and it got rave reviews from the dh...i used brown sugar instead of white and had guinness on hand and used it...did the whole thing in my bread machine...i will make it again...it is great with corned beef...it was quite dense but seemingly lite and moist at the same time...thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I did not keep the beer mixture overnight. 3 hours is all. I was making other Thank youderful wonderful wonderful. Hubby can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I have made this bread twice so far. Wow! what flavor and texture. It's a must bake. I use St. Pauli Girl Dark Beer. 1 bottle is exactly 1 1/2 cups. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
very good recipe i found it better to let the dough rise at least an hour or more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States