Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
all I can say is WOW! incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Yum! I've only had one slice so far (saving it for dinner), but it was wonderful! It was definitely a stiff dough though, so be aware of that when kneading. It rose just like it was supposed to in the time indicated in the recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was surprised to find that this is nearly identical to a recipe I THOUGHT I had invented. Alas... To make a darker and slightly more flavorful bread, use dark/stout beer, molasses, and two TBS of instant coffee. Also suggest using two tablespoons of vinegar as yeast nutrient and dough conditioner. Boil the beer and cool before adding other ingredients. Boiling the beer sours it a bit for a stronger rye bread flavor. Three heaping TBS of sour cream will add a lot to the texture, taste, and shelf-life of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Outstanding w/ great flavor. I used a Black and Tan beer but stuck to the recipe except for rise time. 90 to 100 minutes in my oven w/ the door cracked with a hotpad. Then after forming the loaves it took 75 minutes to stop rising under the same conditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I followed this exactly and it was great. I was a bit worried about how little it rose, but I let it go a bit longer as suggested by other reviews....It's dense and VERY tasty....and did I mention how great my kitchen smells?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I didn't like how heavy and dense this bread is. I like mine a little lighter I guess. The flavor was good though, and I love caraway seeds in my rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
wow i hve been looking for this recipe for a while now tried it love the results.... allrecipes WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lebo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scorcher
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I have tried this a few times and it is a winner! It does very well with some of the "fruity" beers like Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. I do not blend in caraway seeds, but add a generous helping of King Arthur's "Everything" topping for Bagels and Bread. Because it is a rather dense bread it is easily sliced up thin for cheese and salami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is a versatile recipe for a beginner to learn with. In my first six tries, I’ve taught myself to use a digital thermometer (30 minutes is 5 minutes too long for my oven); what I need to add to boost aroma, taste, and appearance; how to make the cornmeal stick (with an egg wash); and the elusive how much is “enough” bread flour to add “to make a soft dough.” In the course of the next six tries I hope to learn how to “punch down” the dough so it rises (doubles) in 30 minutes instead of the 2 hours it is now taking and how to roll dough to fit in a loaf pan to produce a nice crust and with good height.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bejart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was an excellent bread. I put one loaf in the freezer. Even after thawing it was delicious and stayed fresh for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States