Rye Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by flaminmerkin
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
came out lovely :) num num num adding a photo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great Bread! Used Ale and the loaf was not bitter. Very easy and the recipe is easy to follow with excellent results. My only change was that I used fresh cake yeast instead of the pouches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoa eh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The Best!!!!! I did make a few changes. 2 1/4 cups beer, 5 Tbs melted shortening, 3 Tbs molasses, 1 tsp sugar, 2 Tbs cocoa powder, and 3 Tbs caraway seed. I let the beer/rye flour/yeast mixture set for only 6 hours before making the bread. I also let the bread rise for about 1 hour for each rise time. I baked at 375 degrees instead of 400 degrees for about 30 to 35 min. I put in the oven for 15 minutes then pull out and brush with egg wash then put it back in the oven and continue baking until finished. My family ate an entire loaf in less than an hour! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dday515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yummy!! Made exactly as stated except used parchment paper on a cookie sheet and slashed the tops just before baking. I used Guinness Extra Stout Beer, which imparted a wonderful flavor for the senses. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnite Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Followed this recipe almost exactly (omitted the cornmeal). Made the sponge with a Sam Adams Winter Lager and let it sit a bit longer than 15 hours. Baked in a regular bread pan as one loaf rather than dividing into two and yielded 16 thick slices. Really liked the addition of the caraway and didn't find that the beer made the bread bitter at all. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This dough seems very thick and dense, but rises well to produce a soft, pleasantly chewy bread after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is a nice rye bread. I used molasses instead of sugar and added a heaping tablespoon of vital wheat gluten because I wanted a nice rise on it. It rose beautifully and made excellent reuben sandwiches. I do wish it was a little more robust in flavor, but for people that don't love dark breads, the fact that it isn't might be a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I don't like rye bread, but wanted to try this since I know I like beer bread. I followed the recipe and used Leinenkugel's Creamy Dark for the beer. Strong and rich in flavor, it is excellent. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
The rye flavor was a bit lacking, so next time I'll try increasing the rye/bread flour ratio (maybe to 3.5 cups rye, 1.5 cups bread) and see what happens. I'll also try using some almost undrinkably dark, stout wheat beer that I homebrewed a few months ago, as I think this'll be an excellent utilization. In other words this bread wasn't perfect, but I'll certainly be trying again. I think the extra rye and some über-flavorful beer ought to make this into a special, truly 5-star loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe! I used Sierra Nevada Stout for the beer. The bread is easy to put together, and came out perfect. I took it to a St. Patrick's Day party and everybody raved about it. There were no leftovers. I've never been a rye bread fan before, but loved this. Great flavor & texture. The only thing I would do differently is to bake the bread on parchment dusted with cornmeal - I did not like what baked on oil did to my cookie sheet. PS - I tried the recipe again and baked it on parchment dusted with cornmeal; it came out perfect. I highly recommend that way of baking it. I will be making this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States